We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PITHARI TAVERNA

PITHARI TAVERNA
28 Woodbridge Ave., Highland Park, NJ 08904
7325720616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Avenel NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Greek Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love the food here, they have a Greek specialty food shop next door were you can buy Greek wines and ouzo to drink with your meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Family run business.,who insist on getting fresh seafood,vegetables, for their homemade meals, We went with Greek people, who said this is how the food tasted back in the old country.
My wife had a platter with samples such as spinakopita, grape leaves, lemon potatoes, moussaka, etc., and everything was delicious.
I loved the calamari , which was intertwined with several different spicy , tasty favors.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I would go there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

It is a little far from my house, but with family from nearby, worth the trip. Atmosphere is cozy, like a taverna. Light and airy but plain. The food is real Greek. I had Mosharaki Stamnas (sort of beef stew). Lots of it well cooked. I was given a steak knife, but there was no need to use it. The beef bits fell apart on the fork. The ladies shared a Greek Salad and flounder and declared themselves full. Mr. L had shrimp over rice, his regular favorite. In summary -yummy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Greek surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Another surprising find in the middle of NJ undistinguished landscape. Facing a Russian gas station it offers a genuine tasting Greek island fare. Galaktoboureko - freshly baked flat bred, Keftedaki and Kotta Paidakia were particularly good followed by delicious Taramousalata. Home tasting food in a nice friendly family like setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited the Taverna with high expectations based on prior reviews and they were exceed! The food was terrific, the service was excellent and the ambience quite festive even on a quiet Labor Day weekend. We especially recommend the garlic appetizer, salad, the lamb stew and the chicken souvlaki! If you have room try the home made rice pudding which is perfectly creamy! so bring a couple bottles of wine and enjoy the warm hospitality and delicious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PITHARI TAVERNA also viewed

Highland Park, NJ
 
Highland Park, NJ
Highland Park, NJ
 

Been to PITHARI TAVERNA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PITHARI TAVERNA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.