We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average HI Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Union Avenue, Haskell, NJ 07420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haskell
Hartford
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Average HI Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Average HI Express. All the usual comforts. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was complete. Ice machines only on every other floor. Another downside was the parking lot. A recent snow storm left the lot icy and not well cared for. The management should have done a much better making sure the premises were ice free. Or at least the extreme icy conditions should have been treated, they weren't. To top it off there was a "tip jar" at the breakfast buffet area.. Really?? I don't think Holiday Inn Corporate would appreciate hitting up there customers for tips. I stay at HI Express hotels every week. Never saw a Management team that would allow something so tacky. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear steve375,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We deeply regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the the high score for Sleep Quality as well as your kind comments for the staff service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
15
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was impressed by the gr8 quality of service, the cleanliness of the hotel, and the comfort of the accommodations. Free parking and free WiFi that worked beautifully. This will be a property I look forward to returning to. Gr8 room for the price offered !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHaskell, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is relatively new and is in a great location right off Route 278 in north Jersey.
Close to shopping areas and good local "non-chain" restaurants. Many are BYO which is unique, love being able to bring our own wine to a restaurant. Back to the hotel, it is comfortable and a better HI Express than most. Typical noisy air system in the room. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Will definitely return again when traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the building; you can not hear Route 287 or local traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHaskell, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the restaurants and attractions around us! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I read reviews of this hotel and I wish I'd have paid attention to the comments about HARD BED!! Oh my, I was supposed to stay two nights, but I couldn't sleep in this bed again. Rest of the hotel is fine, standard Holiday Inn Express, but the bead is unbearable!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you like to sleep on a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Traveler T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced during your stay. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. If you have future concerns, please let the Duty Manager know so an alternate room could be offered if available.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Where to start... The staff was very nice when I checked in, always a good start. I tried to get on the internet and wow slow. www.speedtest.net showed 500K down and 23k up when I could stay connected. Decided to go for a run. Both treadmills were broken and no towels in the fitness center. After my run of unknown distance, ha ha, I stopped by the front desk to let them know about the treadmills and ask about the internet. They seamed to know that the internet was bad. The morning breakfast was so so, no fresh fruit and the juice seemed watered down. I'll stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: odd rooms numbers face the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Dave743,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by our internet connection and fitness center. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Check-In: Sun 28 Jul 2013 03:00 PM
Check-Out: Wed 31 Jul 2013 11:00 AM
Room 423

1. The hotel was bright and clean as well as my room.

2. The staff was friendly and kudos to the housekeeping staff for my clean room during my entire stay!

3. The free breakfast was the typical American fare both hot and cold. Fresh fruit was not an option but would have been a nice addition.

Anyway, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Now the "BUT".........

When I got home on Wednesday, I had a phone message and emails telling me that the credit card that I had used to make my reservation online has been compromised and was used to make fraudulent purchases. To make a long story short, I called the hotel chain's Customer Care Dept and spoke to Asia and explained to her what had happened to me. She was apologetic and pleasant.

She took my info to pass along to the correct personnel to start an "investigation". That person was supposed to call me within 48 hours. I haven't been called yet, and I hope to hear from them about their plan of action.

This incident, I blame the idiot who used my credit card fraudulently. It is not the fault of the hotel nor the corporate office. However, their response to this incident will speak volumes in how they are safeguarding clients'/consumers' personal and financial information.

Even though I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, I might not stay with a hotel chain that does not have a more robust plan in place to safeguard clients'/consumers' personal and financial information!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHaskell, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for what happened to your credit card, and hope that everything was taken care of in a timely manner! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on night. The room and the bed were very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. It was very convenient to our route. I notice someone said there weren't many restaurants within walking distance. That may be true, but there are plenty of restaurants within a short drive,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHaskell, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area

Address: 303 Union Avenue, Haskell, NJ 07420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Haskell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haskell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy hometown comfort at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Haskell, NJ. The hotel is minutes away from Wayne, Mahwah and Parsippany, NJ. If your stay involves business or leisure be sure to stay with the newest hotel in North Jersey. Located off Exit 55 on Route 287 in Haskell, NJ the hotel offers a free Express Start breakfast including all your favorite items and our famous cinnamon rolls. Hotel amenities include high speed Internet, indoor pool, fitness center, business center and a fully equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Haskell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Haskell-Wayne Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.