We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like the less busy they are the slower they are” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
5 State Route 17, Hasbrouck Heights, NJ 7604
+1 201-393-9330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Seems like the less busy they are the slower they are”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

In terms of food, this Houlihan's is just like any other, which is a good thing. I enjoy their food, especially their soups and tasty Parmesan Frites.

The odd thing about this location is that if you eat here when it is not busy, everything seems to run in slow motion. The food takes longer and the waitstaff stops by the table with less frequency. I went here for lunch on a weekday and there were very few people in the restaurant. I ordered the unlimited soup and salad and I felt like I was constantly trying to flag down the waiter.

They do have trivia nights and specials (sports mostly) so keep an eye on their sign for those events.

This is a Houlihan's, a typical Houlihan's. The service is slow, but the food is still good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our food, but sorry to hear about the service. I will be alerting the Area Director about your visit. Would you like us to contact you? If so, kindly email us at alexhoulihans@gmail.com, thank you. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great for a chain spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I find Houlihan's a bit classier than a TGIF or Chilis even though the food is very similar. I dunno what it is...maybe the decor or food choices but I just love this place. Friendly waiters and good food for any appetite. Will check out the bar in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We take a lot of pride in our "made from scratch" food and glad you like it! We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Got in quickly on a Friday night. Waitress was good but needed to adjust the attitude a bit. I had the Thai wings n ribs. Very good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We're glad to hear that you really enjoyed the wings & ribs. (Regarding you server, if there's an issue you think we should address, feel free to email us alexhoulihans@gmail.com ). Again, thank you for your time, and we look forward to serving you again. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fodd & Service was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I would suggest it. I had steak & shrimp and it was cooked to perfeaction. Waitress was very attentive. I would go back

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're very glad to hear you enjoyed the Steak & Shrimp, and look forward to serving you again. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easy to get to, great staff, good food, especially after a day of travel. Went during dinner hour and did not take long to be seated. Staff was warm and friendly

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We're very glad to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, and hope we get the opportunity to serve you again. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.