We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good service, but TRAIN NOISE!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Harrison
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good service, but TRAIN NOISE!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in a very convenient spot for Newark airport and going to NYC, but the train noise was quite problematic. The rooms were nice and clean, the staff very helpful, and the shuttle to/from the airport and train stations was perfect. Nice, heated indoor pool (I think the website still says it's outdoors!), good size gym, and decent breakfast. They have manager's receptions wednesday nights - free food, beer and wine! Would have given 4 stars but for the location near the train tracks. They start to taper off around 11 pm, but pick up again pretty early. The Spanish restaurant within walking distance was mediocre.

Room Tip: Try to get as far from the train tracks as possible - though I don't know if it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    132
    29
    6
    14
See reviews for
156
64
17
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First night was a disaster as I asked for a room away from the trains and that is not what we got! I didn't sleep at all the first night. Following morning asked to be moved rooms and finally we could which was good as we were there for 5 nights.

I had sent numerous fax messages to the hotel asking about Gluten Free options for breakfast as it was included, to which they never responded, consequently when I arrived they had no idea what I was talking about and nobody wanted to take responsibility for helping me. At breakfast the server couldn't help me so I couldn't eat :( Finally the manager tried to help and they did some research but decided it would be about 15 minutes away to the closest store so they wouldn't bother trying to provide any food.

The staff were very helpful otherwise with food recommendations etc...

The rooms although small were clean, in both rooms however the fridge was noisy so had to unplug.

Easy enough transport to Newark Penn Station with the shuttle and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Riverview room unless you can sleep through the constant train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited NYC using the shuttle service to Penn Station ( the drivers were outstanding ). The reception desk assisted in arranging a NYC tour that was very well managed . The bus returned us to the hotel after a very satisfying day of viewing the highlights of the city. Hallways, reception area, pools , patio and rooms were very clean, and our room looked upon the riverside, that included a boardwalk. The complaints posted here re: the train seemed to be overstated. Breakfast offerings were plentiful ( the eggs were the only disappointment ). We needed transportation to the Manhattan cruise terminal and once again, the front desk staff made the arrangements. We had 4 days in this establishment, and not once did we have anything to find fault with. We walked to Tops Diner twice for dinner, an experience not to be missed. The other evenings we used a take out orders from a pizza shop. We look forward to repeating this in the ear future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A very nice property in a quiet,peaceful location. Great for visiting the city, the shuttle to the train station is easy and it's a quick ride Manhattan. Lots cheaper than staying in New York and parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport,isle of wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our hotel was lovely, the rooms and beds were massive, with everything you could need. The hotel ran a shuttle bus to take you to the station where you could catch the PATH train to the city, they would also pick you up if you gave them a ring. Most of the staff were amazing, namely Lizza, Bethany, Edgar, the breakfast staff and the drivers ! We wete really sad to leave and would def book again, also the complimentary breakfast was brilliant !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

OK, if you have tons of money, just stay in NYC. I don't. The rates at this hotel were 1/3 what you would pay in NYC. Yes it's in Newark which doesn't often get a good review, but it's really in Harrison which is a fairly safe part of town. It's a free 5 minute shuttle to Newark Penn Station, and a $10 round trip train ride to NY Penn State which takes about 20 minutes. From there you're at Macy's so have a good time! The hotel is very clean, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and really seem to want you there. There's a breakfast, and a bar. And the view really is nice (right on the Passaic River). Tops Restaurant is 3 blocks away--don't even thing about staying without see this restaurant as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a pretty safe area, walking distance to a good place to eat (Topps Dinner). it is centrally located to all of the transportation facilities that you would need to move around New Jersey and to go into the city of New York. Very close to the Statue of Liberty transportation area. The Hotel was very clean and well maintained and the staff was always pretty helpful. The guest rooms were clean and huge they were well appointed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.