We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for trips to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Harrison
NRW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location for trips to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was looking for a NJ Hotel from which transport to Manhattan was both quick and inexpensive and the Hampton Inn was just that. With the hotel shuttle to Newark Penn Station and the PATH, we were in no time in Manhattan. Getting picked up in the evening at Penn Station and from the airport when we arrived was difficult though because there seemed to be only one shuttle running at a time. When we arrived at the airport after a long flight from Europe, we had to wait 50(!) minutes for the shuttle to come. Some other hotels sent three buses in that time.
The hotel itself was a typical Hampton Inn with a nice breakfast area, a good sized indoor pool and outdoor seating. The Riverwalk wasn´t what I expected because there were no shops or restaurants, only a junk yard at the other side of the river. The area itself was a bit questionable and so we preferred not to explore it apart from the Dunkin Donuts, the Popeye´s and the Hess opposite and next to it. If you are sensitive to noise, I would not stay here because there are trains running all day and night and you can hear them in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    132
    29
    6
    14
See reviews for
156
64
17
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is located directly across from downtown Newark. Hotel lobby has a nice small bar which was a very nice feature. They do not serve food so you will have to find somewhere else for dining options. Tops Diner directly down the road has excellent food and a full service bar as well. The property is situated on a nice river walk with a patio seating area located right outside of the pool. Easy access to Newark Penn Station and EWR Airport with a complimentary shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our experience at Hampton Inn & Suites was "the best". Ideally located, with very courteous, supportive staff, great breakfast and shuttle services to all key locations. Each shuttle drive is an experience by itself with Drivers not only providing professional services, but also act as tour guides. Would highly recommend this hotel to both business/leasure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We mainly chose this hotel as a low cost alternative to Manhattan hotels due to the shuttle service to Penn station. The shuttle service worked better than I expected and we never waited more than 10 minutes for it to pick us up after we called. The rooms were very clean and smelled fresh. The buffet was OK with moderate selection of choices. Only downside is that the train passes by quite closely and can disturb early sleepers

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good overall. Clean room, clean lobby, decent parking. I did not use the pool or workout room, but they looked clean also. The bar should be open by 4pm, not 5. Nice staff that you can understand. I would stay again. It is near a train... ask for river view ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friend and I (both in our lower 20s) stayed at this hotel during a short weekend trip to New York City. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating. We pre-paid for our rooms online, so checking in was very quick (less than 1-2 minutes) and without any problems. Staff members were very friendly and the hotel was very clean (I appreciated that the duvets for the beds were washed in addition to the sheets). This hotel also has a lot of great ammenities. We used the wifi in our rooms without any problems and the business center computers worked great for finding and printing our reservations for the 911 memorial. We frequently used the hotel's complementary shuttle which took us from the hotel to Newark Penn Station. It was quick (only about 5 minutes) and convenient, just a phone call away. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would want to stay in this area. Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Breakfast had limited to poor choice and variety. Not their fault, but nearby dining is limited to non-existent. Rooms need better/heavier curtains. The sheer curtains allowed too much light in at night. Overall neat and clean, friendly staff. Affordable rates

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk

Address: 100 Passaic Avenue, Harrison, NJ 07029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Harrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk is conveniently located just a short drive from Red Bull Arena, MetLife Stadium, Newark Museum, Manhattan and NYC in Harrison, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & outdoor pool. Explore many Harrison area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk Hotel Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
Harrison Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Newark-Harrison-Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.