We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not underestimate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 S White Horse Pike, Hammonton, NJ 08037 (Formerly Hammonton Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammonton
Danbury, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not underestimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

We (2 adults and one child in one room and 1 adult and one child in another room) stayed at this hotel for one night for my grandmother's 90th birthday party at a near by site. I was very impressed with the customer service, the rooms and the breakfast offered. The front desk was very friendly and accomodating. Full of information! The rooms were average and the beds were impressively comfortable and the faint smell of bleach on the bed sheets was reassuring to me that the sheets and towels were clean, although the towels were noticeably a little worn. The breakfast was fantastic. The breakfast area was kept very neat and clean despite the fact that it is set up for each individual to make their own waffles. Except for eggs and bacon(or ham if you prefer) we had everything we needed for a very well balanced breakfast. It also saved us a trip to the diner which would have been a pretty penny. Dont underestimate this hotel. Its a hidden treasure. I will stay here again. Maybe in the summer, when I can enjoy the pool that was very clean despite the season we visited in.

  • Liked — the smell of clean in the rooms
  • Disliked — still in progress of getting renovated
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
8
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

We encountered major difficulties enroute to our reserved stay. We arrived by cab after midnight, having had no lunch or dinner. The night desk clerk was very kind, inviting us to the breakfast area for food and beverages. While at breakfast (waiting for our cab), we talked to the manager about the problems we were encountering in nearby Stratford. We were amazed that a man who had never laid eyes on us before was so caring. He went above and beyond the call of duty. We will never forget the kindness!!!
The room was spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed.
The breakfast (especially the waffles) was delicious.
I would highly recommend this motel and if ever back in the area would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The friendly, caring staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not think twice about staying here.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

This hotel was recommended to guests of an event my daughter and I attended at Hammonton High School. Despite reservations for two nights, I took one look at my room, returned my key to the office, and headed for another hotel. Since there wasn't much to choose from in the immediate area, we ended up in Atlantic City.....but I didn't care. It was worth it to be out of the Ramada. The room was dark and dirty, and I didn't even want to touch the bed. The other thing that gave me the creeps was a window by the bathroom that opened to a wooded area. It looked like it wouldn't take much for someone to open the window from the outside. The only positive thing I could say about the Ramada is that the location isn't bad. It's a shame someone doesn't try to renovate the property because it seems to be the only hotel chain in town.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We stayed here as part of a wedding and the stay did not start off well. After explaining when we made the reservations that we were part of the wedding party and needed an early check in, upon arrival the rude desk clerk advised us that check in was not until 2:00. That was the policy. We explained we needed the early check in and why and that we told them that when we made the reservations, but she said there was nothing written down. Keep in mind that the hotel was mostly empty and the room was already cleaned (at least supposedly). We had to argue with her before she finally allowed us in around noon. When we got to the room, we noticed blue duct tape around the lock and handle. When we opened the door we were hit with an overwhelming musty smell. Although the beds were made and the toilet seat was wrapped, there was a dirty towel left laying on the bathroom floor. The heater was turned off, so we had to keep our jackets on for about 30 minutes until the heat kicked on, which we had to fix ourselves. In addition to fixing the heater, we had to go around and plug in all the lamps. When we pulled back the bed spread, we noticed a hole and some stains on the blanket underneath. If you need to stay in this area, consider driving a few extra miles and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

Just stayed there after a wedding along with fifteen other couples. Our room smelled as soon as you walked in, it was a musty dirty clothes smell that didn't go away. The air conditioner didn't work well, it was more of a smelly fan. There were two dead bugs, that we did not ever find out what kind they were, in the bathroom. The King rooms do not have tub/shower combo it is a stall, the door tracks were full of mold and black build-up and didn't look like anyone ever tried to wipe it out. The rugs looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. Thank god I brought my own sheets, covers and pillows. There were numerous trucks full of dogs staying there also. Some of the dogs were still in the trucks the others were in the rooms. Every time someone walked by them they would bark. My parents said there room was dusty, my cousins room had been the location of a prostitution bust the night before and they wouldn't let them change rooms. With our disgust of the bathroom and the bugs, we woke up early and just drove home. Some of the other rooms were okay, so I would ask to look at the room before accepting it. The location of the hotel is good and we felt safe, the prostitution thing gave us the creeps, but the looks and location wouldn't make you think that would go on there, so hopefully it was a one time thing.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 308 S White Horse Pike, Hammonton, NJ 08037 (Formerly Hammonton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hammonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnsons Hammonton / Atlantic City Hotel Hammonton
Ramada Hammonton
Hammonton Ramada Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.