We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am a HoJo customer for life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 S White Horse Pike, Hammonton, NJ 08037 (Formerly Hammonton Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammonton
Newtonville, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Am a HoJo customer for life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Rooms were clean and comfortable. We just had a severe storm and lost power for FIVE DAYS. Howard Johnson in Hammonton was the only hotel in our area not price gouging! Lovely staff and great house keepers. Definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
8
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My sisters and I traveled to New Jersey to visit my son and see the sites in Atlantic City and Philly. We chose HOJO because the website listed all rooms having free wi-fi, refrigerator, and televisions, and they had reasonable rates. Plus the hotel was close to my son. The website was misleading!

My room had no refrigerator, microwave, or ice bucket, it smelled musty, and there was masking tape holding tiles up in the bathroom. My sister Lisa had a tv, refrigerator, and microwave but the room smelled liked musty dirty feet, had holes in the sheets, and had no security lock on the door. My sister Terri had no microwave, no refrigerator, no alarm clock, and the tv did not work. When we asked the front desk clerk why we were missing items in the room she stated we had to specifically request the refrigerator and microwave when we check in. Talk about false advertising! We also got back to our rooms late the first night. They had made the beds and brought new towels, but the old wet towels were left where they were, and they didn't refresh the paper cups or coffee for the coffee pot.

The hotel was full of migrant workers for the blueberry picking season. We had no problem with them...they mostly stayed quiet and kept to themselves. But since there were 6-8 workers in each room, this led to a bit of a problem with overflowing garbage, empty beer bottles, chicken wings on the stairs, and other trash in the parking lot. The garbage was overflowing when we checked in....it was overflowing when we checked out. I never saw anybody out trying to clean up all the trash. We would have gone to another hotel....but by the time we got to New Jersey most of the hotels were booked up for the 4th of July holiday and we still wanted to be close to my son. The website listed the rooms as being $57 a night. This was just to get people interested. They raised the amount each night. $57 the first, $71 the second, and $89 the third. Totally not worth it!!

Room Tip: Skip this hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently visited this hotel for a trip to Philly/AC. We were originally planning to camp in area, but the weather forecast forced us to change our plans at the last minute. Of course it was over a weekend and there was a large music festival in AC this weekend, so hotel choices were limited: either they were sold out or incredibly expensive.
So pros: we planned to visit both Philly and AC and this hotel is directly in between. The price was reasonable for the area and especially at the last minute. The pool was clean, but very exposed with no privacy. Rooms were clean.
Cons: the hotel advertises it was built in 2001, but the exterior looks older. It is also in need of a good cleaning and painting. Lots of trash around, cigarette butts etc. On arrival the lobby is really small and dirty. They were also renting a lot of rooms for long-term stays to immigrant farm workers, though they posed no issued and were quiet. Just made the place crowded. The room was clean, but very dated. When we checked into the room in there was no toilet paper in the room. The cleaning service was less than desirable. The next night we came back from Philly around 7:30 pm. The bed was made but all the dirty towels were still in the bathroom and we had to go downstairs to get clean ones. They didn't vacuum. They offer continental breakfast, but we didn't partake.
Overall it was adequate given our circumstances, but given a choice I would stay elsewhere, even at a higher price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I traveled to South Jersey with our young son to attend a family reunion in Egg Harbor. We would have prefered a hotel closer to the event but with a music festival in the vicinity the better and closer hotels were either sold out or exceptionally high priced for the occasion. The rates at this hotel were reasonable, considering.

First, the good. We got the room we reserved without any problems. The front desk clerk checked us in quickly and was friendly enough. Despite being nearly full the hotel itself was quiet both nights of our stay. The sheets were clean. We performed a quick check for bed bugs and didn't see signs of any. There were very many cable channels which was nice for our son. The pool seemed well maintained although we didn't have time for a swim. The courtesy breakfast was spartan but satisfying.

Now, the not-so-good. There seemed to be a large population of full-time residents. We assumed they were migrant workers. They occupied about a third of the hotel and there was always some activity in the parking lot although we were never disturbed by it. The hotel looks circa 1975 and it appears very few upgrades had been done any time recently. The bathroom may still have its original fixtures and there were rusty holes around the windows where the curtain rods had once been screwed into the walls. Some tiles were missing from the bathroom floor. The furnishings were not luxurious by any standard. Some of the bath towels showed signs of wear. One was flat out torn. The parking lot and walkways could have benefitted from some litter control. The deadbolt lock had been removed from the door for some reason so there was only the standard door lock for security. Hot water was occasionally itermittant during showers. The room smelled its age a bit. Not a bad smell, just not fresh.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at HOJO's the weekend of June 16th for 2 nights. Rooms are very basic and dated, but clean enough. It was quiet although we were close to the road. A/C worked well. Free WIFI was great. Nice breakfast if you enjoy carbs, and the kids like the waffle maker. Liked the pool, although it is completely out in the open, it was clean with nice lounges and tables with umbrellas. Overall, perfect for a soccer tournament weekend - location was perfect, 5 minuts to the turf farm fields!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor near the office and it was very quiet, not sure if there is any differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longomont Co
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very affortable price with a very clean room and bathroom and comfortable Bed. Enjoyed the little kitchen area with microwave, sink and frig. Good WiFi connection. The continental breakfast was good. The maid service was very good and the management was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

While the hotel should receive a POOR rating the cleaning and front desk staff deserve a good review. It would help if ALL the staff spoke English, our language, and that the toilets flushed. Seems like the basics of an American hotel chain to me. Our group reserved several rooms and one party had to go through 3 different keys and 2 different rooms until 1 would open.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 308 S White Horse Pike, Hammonton, NJ 08037 (Formerly Hammonton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hammonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnsons Hammonton / Atlantic City Hotel Hammonton
Ramada Hammonton
Hammonton Ramada Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.