We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food for an excellent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Coin Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Coin Diner
White Horse Pike & Hwy 206, Hammonton, NJ 08037
(609) 561-6974
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 67 restaurants in Hammonton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Food for an excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am a frequent patron of the Silver Coin Diner. The service is great and you get alot of great food for an inexpensive price.They has daily great specials that include soup or salad, a main entree and a choice of desserts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    12
    19
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very good local diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The silver coin has been there for years. Food is consistently good. Some items are a little pricey. Quality is always great. Definitely worth a stop by for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always provides a good dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been to the Silver Coin several times and never had a bad experience. The older hosts do sometimes seem a bit abrupt and unfriendly, but all the waitresses I've had there more than made up for it. They were all very friendly and helpful. But what I like best about them is that they seem like experienced waitresses … not some inexperienced snooty teenagers only holding down the job to make some spending money for the summer.

I've had every meal there at least once… breakfast, lunch and dinner … and was happy each time. I love that they have chicken cordon bleu as a regular menu item. That's not something you see in a lot of places. They serve it on mashed potatoes, which I've never seen. It was good, but next time, I'd probably swap out the mashed potatoes for rice, the way I normally have it. I also recommend the meatloaf and turkey dinners.

The prices were reasonable. For two people, we paid about $30 and had a ton of food (including entrees, salad, soup and drinks), which is what I usually expect for the average diner experience.

The other popular choice in Hammonton is the Pic-A-Lilly in further up on Rt. 206. By comparison, the Silver Coin is more affordable and has way more options.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Diners are Hard to Find Nowadays Due to the Economy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I enjoy going to the Silver Coin. I always find the food to be very good. It's a simple family diner with a large variety of menu items. It's a nice place to go when you can't make it out of town or are tired of Italian, Mexican or Chinese.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love diners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a nice experience. Large menu, great food and friendly service. I had the crab cakes. A lot of crab meat and handmade. They also have a full service bar.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Coin Diner also viewed

 

Been to Silver Coin Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Coin Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.