We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A French Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rat's

Rat's
16 Fairgrounds Road, Hamilton, NJ 08619
+1 609-584-7800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rat's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sculpture Way
Transit: Less than 3 miles from the Hamilton, NJ Amtrak/NJ Transit complex
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A French Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

During your visit to The Grounds for Sculpture you must make a reservation at Rats for lunch. We had the best onion soup, cheesy and delicious. Their cocktails are very creative and they can do many with no alcohol. We also ordered mussels, very yummy and a turkey / bacon sandwich which I also had for dinner that evening. Rats can also be accessed from the road if you choose to just eat and not do the Gardens.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    95
    39
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
robinsville, nj
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food in the most beautiful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food is exquisite, despite the changes in their chefs. I really love this restaurant's high standards, and it has never disappointed. Last time we went there (August '14) the service was a bit chaotic, but I attributed it to the new waiters on staff, who seemed to be there just for the Summer. The food though was perfect, as usual, apart from the rabbit stew (under seasoned). We took my Canadian family for dinner and they were justly wow-ed. The walk through the Grounds for Sculpture park afterwards was the perfect way to not feel too guilty about the calories.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food, service, atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stopped midway during our day at the gardens. Sat out on the patio with a view of the Monet Bridge. The food and service was wonderful. Our waiter Hector did a great job. We didn't want to rush and he didn't make us feel other people were waiting for our table. My husband and I had the Trout and it was delicious. We started with a great Onion Soup and ended with their home made donuts. Pleased but not surprised the restaurant supports local farms. Looking forward to our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAUSA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This is a real secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have only heard about the high prices here for years but for lunch, at least, it was a real treat. Though it had many empty tables, we were told they were booked and were not taking any more settings but we could go to the bar. good in we did. Great menu, nice, reasonable wine choices, and you cannot beat the venue for visitors or guests. The ambience and decor Were great, even sitting at the bar, though the bartenders were surly, and the turkey sandwich and risotto were both fabulous. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Every time we go to Rats you see something new again for the first time. This experience was no exception. Outstanding, genuine service by KRISTA and Nick. Bread, olive oil, meats , drinks, eggplant dumplings....just go and enjoy! Take somebody who has never gone to create new memories. Extra appreciation to the ever wonderful Chris C who truly emulates rare professionalism from assisting with the details of special occasion seating needs to welcoming you back again. His humble confidence is present throughout the whole experience. Thank you-go check it out and have fun! PS- do the donuts-delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rat's also viewed

 

Been to Rat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rat's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.