We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia yes...best pizza pie? Not in my book” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DeLorenzo's Pizza

DeLorenzo's Pizza
147 Sloan Ave., Hamilton, NJ 08619
609-393-2952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nostalgia yes...best pizza pie? Not in my book”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Yes it has been around forever and I can see the potential of a very solid tomato pie. However, I think they are surviving on nostalgia because they have been around so long. Very limited menu (I saw nothing on the menu but pies) so unsure about reviews that referenced antipasto, etc. Service (dine in) is always mediocre particularly if you get one of the younger people. Overall I think this place has passed it's prime and needs to rethink their approach to create additional fans of the restaurant..but then again maybe this is exactly what they want.

This is a BYOB and cash only place. For me (a local) I prefer Palermo's pies in Ewing over Delorenzo's.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always a favorite for pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Can't beat the thin crust pizza, makes you want to eat the whole pizza by yourself. Service is kind of slow though, so be prepared to wait. Can't wait to visit them in their new location.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

thin crust, lots of topping choices, tiny, friendly folks, staff great, byob...parking can be problematic and the bathroom is a bit funky, bt great, nonetheless

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just caught DE Lorenzo's last weekend shortly before the planned move. The Pizza
is excellent and although it cam out a little charred (burnt) the tomato- cheese ratio was
good and as advertised it is an authentic Trenton tomato pie with cheese. We went witht he large plain and it lasted about 5 minutes until we were into pie # 2. No bathroom which is odd but I assume the new place will have. Soda and no bar and pizza only menu. Cheapest lunch I ever had for three at 30. Get to this dive before it closes. It reminds me of Tony's Baltimore grill in AC

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pizza excelence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the crust the gravy all in perfect harmony a real taste of a JERSEY pizza if you leave here unsatisfied you do not know from real pizza if it came up and ran you over

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLorenzo's Pizza also viewed

 
Hamilton, NJ
 

Been to DeLorenzo's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeLorenzo's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.