We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Pub & Grill

Blackstone Pub & Grill
87 Rte. 23 North, Hamburg, NJ
9737021234
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The menu had many creative choices, including some of the items from the "Top Notch" restaurants. I selected the cashew encrusted grouper and it was perfect. If you are looking for great food at a reasonable price this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    6
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great continental food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I tried the jaeger schnitzel - large portion, perfectly prepared. Innovative, tasty wedge salad - romaine instead of iceberg lettuce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went to the Blackstone Pub&Grill last night with a large number of family and friends it was fantastic.The Pub is under new ownership and you can tell by the varied menu options and the service was professional and friendly. The food not only looked good but tasted amazing. I had the German combo consisting of sauerbraten ,wiener schnitzel ,and German sausage served with a homemade potato pancake and red cabbage. OK, I am a gym rat ,but I wanted meat last night and the choice of this entree did not disappoint it was a nice size of each taste of German fare and presented on the plate beautiful. Highly, recommend the Blackstone salad too and it is big enough to share. Ask for Donna as your server she was terrific! We will Be Back!

"Sasha Fierce"aka,Leslie J.J.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant - new owner/menu - ignore prior bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to Black Stone to try out German section of menu. Food was excellent. Service was attentive. Very pleasant atmosphere and stylish bar area. Will be back to try more selections from the menu. Prior negative reviews should be dismissed entirely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“New Owner - New Menu - Great Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you have read the previous reviews you may think twice about going here, but I can tell you that Chef/Owner Kevin Stender has recreated the place with some of the most delicious dishes I've had in a long time and in all places Hamburg, NJ!!

The place apparently has the same warm decor as it did prior to Kevin's taking over about 3 weeks ago. The carpet should be replaced but otherwise the place has a cozy and warm feeling to it though could use some booths. This in spite of the fact that there are flat screen TV's around and there is a full service bar but it is nicely partitioned off from the main dining area as it should be.

Our server Matt was very cordial and made the evening fun!

The menu is short and sweet and has some tantalizing and interesting entrees. Several meat dishes including ribs and a whole seafood section catch one's eye but the dish I went after was from the small "German" section of the menu! The German Combo was absolutely delicious with sauerbraten, wurst, and jaeger schnitzel (could have been less dry), potato pancakes, and red beets at $18.00. Usually this dish gives me heartburn in spite of how much I like sauerbraten BUT NOT THIS TIME! FABULOUS, went down easy and the mushrooms sautéed in butter and white wine were fantastic. My wife had the Shrimp Scampi ($16.50) and the pasta was in the level of true Italian old country style.

The coffee was slightly burnt but the Mango/Guava Cheesecake desert was outstanding.

They have specials which also looked good and the prices were good. The beer we had was properly chilled and a welcome treat on a hot day!

In addition to the comments already made I can see some improvement in the timeliness of service being in order but nothing that would stop us from visiting again.

So, forget about the previous comments as they are no longer relevant and give the new ownership/management a chance to prove themselves to you as they have to us.

Looking forward to our next time there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackstone Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blackstone Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackstone Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.