We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cascades Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Cascades Lodge to your Saves list
Grand Cascades Lodge
3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quick Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Didn't really have time to enjoy the great looking amenities here, as we were in latish and had to be out early.

The staff that we did encounter were friendly and courteous - the room was very well equipped with all of the amenities you would expect. The sofa bed was exceptionally uncomfortable for an adult - a child's weight may not prove such a problem but for a full grown adult it was an inadequate support.

We ate in the Tavern, the more family friendly restaurant on property - Kobe Burger $19.00 - quite good but hard to justify $19.00. The kids menu unfortunately falls into the norm with the usual kids fare - macaroni cheese, hot dogs and cheese burger - our sons with everything burger came with nothing! The service in the Tavern was slow and the server seemed somewhat challenged to communicate clearly - all in all, over priced and of poor quality - we had a much better meal in the family diner on the way home the next day for half the price. Not sure that with expense comes quality - often, as in this case the price of the menu does not indicate the quality of the food. Resorts like this really need to invest in a healthy kid friendly menu, the smoothies on the menu we full of sugar and the chocolate and banana has to be a joke - where is healthy fruit based smoothie or fresh vegetables. the In hindsight - we should have eaten somewhere else. All a little pretentious.

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bernie,

Thank you for choosing Grand Cascades Lodge as the destination for your recent stay with your family, and for sharing your experience. We are very glad that your stay was pleasant and our staff made you feel welcomed. Hopefully, you will have more time to enjoy the wide variety of amenities and activities during your next visit, which include amazing pools, golf, kids activities, outdoor adventures, and exciting special events.

Thank you also for providing insights regarding the restaurant kids menu, service, quality, and pricing. I will share these with our restaurant managers and Food & Beverage Director, and I apologize that the lackluster service you received was not consistent with the outstanding service for which we are known. Our chef's utilize the freshest and most high quality ingredients when creating and preparing our restaurant menus, but this should most definitely include our young diners as well. You make a great suggestion in your post, which I will also share with our F&B management team.

We hope that you will choose Grand Cascades Lodge again soon, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family once again.

Thanks for visiting us and for your post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    156
    79
    44
    26
See reviews for
194
229
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of my daughter getting married at Black Bear, this past week end. My husband and I stayed the week end at Grand Cascades, along with our daughter and numerous other guests. I cannot say enough about how wonderful you are treated by everyone at this resort. Nothing is a bother to them, they are there to help in any way.
The rooms are amazing, when I walked into our room I thought that we had the wrong room. I have never stayed in a more warm and beautiful suite. The Kitchen had everything you needed from a full size Refrigerator to a dishwasher.The cabinets were stocked with wine glasses as well as a corkscrew, plates, silverware. Coffee pot with coffee and creamers. The living room had a gas Fireplace, that started with a switch on the wall. Off of the living room was a beautiful deck with large table and 4 chairs. The bedroom had a door off of the bedroom to the huge bathroom. The tub was huge with jets and the shower was also a very good size.
The grounds are amazing, infinity pool as well as a pool with a slide, a tikki bar near the pool for drinks and food. The other pool was inside, beautiful as well and also another pool outside.
At night we had a glass of wine outside near one of the firepits and there is also a few fireplaces. There was a place near the firepits that you could lay down, it was a very large lounge chair. The sunset was unbelievable. It was a Perfect way to spend with family and friends for my daughter and son in laws Wedding. We hope to be back in the near future to this Magical place in New Jersey. We all felt like we were in a beautiful destination. You cannot help but relax at this beautiful Resort. Because my brother loved this place so much he is going away there this wk end for his 27th Wedding Anniversary, he told us he has been to many places and this by far has been the best by far. We thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for making this the best wedding we could ever ask for. Also the food was amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear NewJerseyJeter,

A wedding is truly one of the most special occassions that a family can share at our resort, and we are honored and elated to have helped make this a memorable weekend for your daughter and your family! On behalf of our staff, thank you for your warm and generous compliments, which truly mean a great deal to us. We are passionately focused on providing a great guest experience, and we are very happy that your friends and family were treated to luxury but also had fun at the celebration and exploring our amenities.

It is our hope that your daughter's wedding weekend will be one of many wonderful trips to Grand Cascades Lodge, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Multiple locations to swim, dine, drink and just flat out chill. It can get a little costly but it's worth it. Te service staff is friendly drinks are good and food is pleasant. Great location on the foot of Mt. Creek for winter and summer activities. Great local wineries with in a close radius. Last but not least golf out the ying yang!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for visiting Grand Cascades, and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience here enjoying our wide variety of amenities and golf. We pride ourselves on being able to provide couples, families, and corporate travelers a fun, warm and luxurious stay from beginning to end, and we are focused on exceptional service, dining and golf. Although your stay may have been brief, we are glad that you packed a lot into a short time.

Thanks much for sharing your post, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We heard great things from friends and family about Grand Cascades and took a birthday weekend and went the week after Labor Day-little did we know we were put smack in the middle of a wedding party who screamed and yelled until 1am-the tv pixilated so that was of no help-and we thought the restaurants were extremely limited. A family oriented destination should offer family oriented selections-it was very nouvo in the restaurant selection. We ended up going to dinner at Minerals Resort, and, in fact, are going to stay there in November. Wish we had stayed there to begin with. Personally, a lot of hype, not much substance. I will say however, the rooms are absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding taking place the time you want to stay-and ask to be placed as far away as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for staying and for sharing your comments. It is always unfortunate when the actions of one guest make it difficult for another guest truly to relax and enjoy a peaceful night's rest. We always encourage any guest who is experiencing any sort of issue no matter how small to contact our front desk right away for assistance. We are here to help! I am, however, very glad that we had a few moments to speak at checkout and that you are booked for a return stay at our sister property, Minerals Resort and Spa, in the near future. I am certain that you will have a wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable experience. We appreciate your patience and understanding and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crystal Springs later in the Fall.

Thanks again for posting and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first trip to the Grand Cascades Lodge. It was great. We played alittle golf, rode horses, and had an awesome private bicycle tour on the Sussex Path with Kathy. Food was a little pricey, but delicious. One thing to note: make your reservations for Restuarant Latour at the same time you book your reservations for the hotel so you won't be disappointed. We found that you do need reservations for dinner for all the resturants. Service was excellent, the rooms were beautifully appointed....the view was breathtaking. All in New Jersey!! We will be back.

Room Tip: Make reservations for dinner and tee time when you book the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sherry M,

Thank you for your post! It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay, our property, our outdoor activities, and our amenities. Our Adventure Center activities, including horseback riding, biking, canoeing, hiking and more really allow our guests to experience the beauty of the natural surroundings that help make our resort special. We are very happy that you took advantage of these and of course, were not disappointed. Great tip for travelers who might read this to book dining in advance--although we offer four restaurants on our property for dinner during Summer and early Autumn, they do book quickly!

We appreciate your taking time to share your experience and are looking forward to your next trip to Crystal Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Do NOT book this hotel. I agree with all reviews about poor customer service and the cleanliness and upkeep of the place - shabby everywhere: lobby entrance, elevators, rooms, stupid bathroom sinks; wafer thin walls so your neighbors are basically sitting in your laps b/c you can hear everything through the walls. It appears that someone built a few fairly cool looking hotel structures in a beautiful setting and then abandoned the place and the local (unclean) motel team took over. Staff are nice enough but don't really understand how we're paying a lot of money and they're supposed to do certain things for us in exchange. Because it's so pervasive (at the Mineral Springs Inn or whatever it's called, it was the same nonexistent customer service - it's like they run and hide when you approach the desk) the problem appears to be poor hiring decisions combined with poor or inexistent training. There were too many examples from the moment we arrived and during each of the 2 days we were there in September 2013 but it ended consistently with us leaving the Bioshpere pool - must digress here b/c pool is fairly cool for kids, not grownups, but in order to get to this signature pool which they advertise everywhere, you have to go through some dirty basement utility halls and doors with all the maintenance stuff like you're in a back alleyway, then you have to check in and wear a wristband like your last college party to show you can drink purportedly to keep the riff-raff out (they said) who may come from other resport hotels and then you have a dinky poolside so-called cafe with old Costco muffins and old salads and lousy (cold) coffee which cost $45 for breakfast for 2 kids / 2 adults - so we're trying to leave at 11:30 to pack up and check out by noon, schlepping our stuff to the room only to find we're locked out. We schlep back down and the front desk "manager" does not say even an insincere apology and says "okay, let me get you new cards." I ask if we're late and he says no, this happens to our doors - the system sometiones locks guests out early - it's a mixed up timer thing. So they know this happens and don't do anything to fix it and when you tell them about it, no apology. He was not mean or rude (I told him I was surprised not to hear an apology and he said, oh sorry) and it's fine service for a cheap motel, but not at a place charging resort prices for the rooms and every bad morsel of food you can scrape up there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Denis,

Thank you for choosing Grand Cascades Lodge for your recent getaway. Despite your comments, I hope that you and your family were able to find some enjoyment in your time here. Many of the items mentioned in your review are vague, unfairly exaggerated or incorrect, and I must graciously disagree with your opinions of our property's cleanliness, layout, level of service, and menu. For example, the baked goods served in our cafe are prepared daily by our inhouse bakers and pastry chef. It is true that we ask guests who visit the Biosphere pool to wear wristbands, but only to indicate that the guest is staying at the lodge and meets the height requirement for our waterslide. Our pool level is set below the first floor because the hotel is built on the side of a mountain but the hallway and foyer leading to the pool are by no means a utility hallway or a place not intended for guests.

It is unfortunate that you were not able to address these concerns during your stay, but regardless we are still more than willing to discuss your stay further. You are encouraged to contact the lodge and we will attempt to do the same.

We take pride in the quality of our resort, in all aspects and strive to create a memorable guest experience for all visitors to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful views, amazing service, excellent meeting rooms for perfect meetings and events, wonderful wedding venue, several restaurants, loads of activities, pools, golf, Spa, .. the list goes on.. and all this right here in New Jersey. Loved my 1 night stay at the Grand Cascade Lodge

Room Tip: Rooms are showing that it needs a little TLC. Resort is expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Grand Cascades Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SBK225,

Thank you for choosing Grand Cascades Lodge and for sharing your experience. We love that you loved your stay! The beauty of our resort is tough to match, and we have expanded over the past few years, adding more and more fun and luxurious activities and amenities. Whether it be for a wedding, corporate function, overnight getaway or short afternoon visit, we have something special to offer our guests. We are happy to have had you as a visitor and look forward to your next trip to Crystal Springs.

Thanks again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cascades Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cascades Lodge

Address: 3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grand Cascades Lodge, the NY metro area's newest and most luxurious resort hotel. Ideally situated in the scenic mountains of northwestern New Jersey and just 47 miles from Manhattan, this elegant retreat offers spacious designer guest rooms with gourmet kitchens, fireplaces and balconies. World-class amenities include a distinctive Biosphere Tropical Pool Complex, the luxurious Reflections Spa, six award-winning golf courses, an 18-hole grass putting course, 4-star Restaurant Latour, 3 indoor/outdoor heated pools, meeting and conference rooms, on-site pro shop, gift store and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Cascades Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cascades Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Grand Cascades

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cascades Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.