We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cascades Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grand Cascades Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Cascades Lodge
3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hamburg
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent our MLK weekend here with our kids. We got a one bedroom suite with kitchen. Overall, We had a great time. The place is clean. The biosphere was very nice. Something unique. It's also close to Mountain Creek and the give you a free ride going there. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    137
    67
    41
    26
See reviews for
173
205
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and two teenage daughters, along with another family, spent a long weekend here. Our trip mission was skiing, so we didn't take much advantage of the hotel amenities, other than the pool area. The hotel was lovely - and clean, as were the rooms. Not a bad view in the place. We had suites with kitchens, so did not get to enjoy the restaurants, but it always smelled delicious when we passed by. Maybe next time. Kitchens were supplied with the very basics. Take any special tools that you need - particularly a scrubby sponge for soiled pots! The bed had a memory foam mattress, which I greatly enjoyed. Never slept on one before. There was a nice toasty fireplace in our living area and a deck with a lovely vista. Two tvs, but no wIFI in the room. In short, we enjoyed the room so much, we spent our down time there, relaxing.The staff was kind and helpful, especially the shuttle staff. Very accommodating. Shuttles run regularly to and from the ski areas during the day, and when they are not running after hours, you simply call for a private shuttle. Nice! We wished there was an area by the entrance to stow ski equipment overnight, instead of lugging wet boots and skis up to the room each night. There is a locker somewhere, but still a pain carting that stuff around. The pool area is very cool - enough said. I was planning on getting a pedicure, but $60 was too much. Call me cheap!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here - the staff were very accommodating and the atmosphere was relaxed. We really enjoyed our Port Wine seminar in the wine cellar, and were glad we didn't need to be anywhere afterwards!
Later, we explored the biosphere pool and steam room. We wondered if this was the slow season, as there weren't many planned activities that week, but weren't complaining because our intention was to relax, and relax we did.
We were hoping to have dinner at restaurant latour, but it closed early on Sunday & so we took the shuttle over to Kite's at the Minerals location, but they were closed as well (at 9:15pm on a Sunday, even though their kitchen was listed as open until 10pm). The staff at Kite's were less than hospitable; a big difference from Grand Cascades.
Our room was nice, although when we stepped out to our balcony in the morning we were greeted by another guest undressing in front of their window, a mere 8-10' from our balcony. awkward. Inside our room, however, was nice and private.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and are looking forward to another ladies' weekend soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a Saturday at the Grand Casades Lodge. We both had massages at Reflections Spa. We both had a great experience there. The service was great and the massage was very good. You won't be disappointed. Each locker area has a steam room and lockers. The waiting area is very relaxing as well. Our massage was part of the package.

After checking out reviews regarding the dinner options I booked a reservation at latour restaurant. The entire dining experience was teriffic. It's a very romantic setting if that what your looking for. The service again was very good. I would highly recommend the NY strip. It was done to perfection. My wife had the lobster. Your entree comes with an appetizer and dessert. Everything on the menu looked great. They have an extensive but pricey wine list.

Overall our experience was great. We both enjoyed our stay. I must say the only drawback is that the resort and restaurant are very expensive. With that being said, I'd recommend the resort and would return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Awesome grounds very nicely kept upscale resort. Pool area is very Caribbean like (temperature)also have an outdoor pool (heated)which is cool especially when it's flurrying. Restaurants get filled up quickly so make reservations. My wife and I had dinner at the Latour 8 course meal with wine pairings pricey but worth it. We did eat at kites and it was not very good. Had one issue with being charged for someone's else meal which I did not catch til after we had checked out (but it was resolved they refunded the money) fun miniature gold for kids and family also try the hiking/walking trails. Room service was surprisingly good but pricey.

Room Tip: Keep track of all your restaurant/meal purchases as all are sign and billed to URL room unless your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Three families travelled to the Lodge over the New Year's holiday for a 3 night stay. The marketing via the web set my expectations and I was soon disappointed. Couple of issues which were in their control that were handled very poorly : 1) we wanted rooms together, they said they could accommodate and then we had a fiasco at check in and one of our party had to move 3 times to get closer to the group; 2) did not provide updated info to their guests on the status of Mtn Creek activities - was their skiing? was there tubing? ... alot of running around - whose on 1st; 3) Housekeeping - horrible and 4) Slow service at the New Year's Eve party (clearing dinner dishes, etc) Postives: Updated rooms, Wine cellar tour, Reflections Spa, On-site restaurants and a few agents that did respond to us. Bottom line, very disappointed with housekeeping, especially with such beautiful rooms. Seemed very overwhelmed! Big missed opportunity for them. If going with young kids etc, the Hershey Hotel may be a better choice for the holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I vacationed here for a one night getaway during the week. We are from NJ, but this didn't feel like NJ, it was wonderful!. The resort location is beautiful and the views with all the snow were stunning! We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was like a mini apartment- with a modern kitchen, bathroom with heated floors, tempurpedic bed, living room, balcony, and fireplace! For a couple, it was an awesome, relaxing getaway. As far as the service, I cannot comment on that because well, we didn't use anything!! We went away one night to be alone, bought and cooked our own dinner. We wanted peace and wanted a trip away from everything. So we didn't use any services provided by the hotel. We got exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Cascades Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cascades Lodge

Address: 3 Wild Turkey Way, Hamburg, NJ 07419
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Grand Cascades Lodge, the NY metro area’s newest and most luxurious resort hotel. Ideally situated in the scenic mountains of northwestern New Jersey and just 47 miles from Manhattan, this elegant retreat offers spacious designer guest rooms with fireplace and balconies. World-class amenities include a distinctive Biosphere tropical pool complex, the luxurious Reflections Spa, seven award-winning golf courses, an 18-hole grass putting course, and 4-star Restaurant Latour with its 54,000 bottle Wine Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Cascades Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cascades Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Grand Cascades

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cascades Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.