We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bea McNallys” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bea McNallys

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bea McNallys
109 Grand Ave, Hackettstown, NJ
9088131900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 77 Restaurants in Hackettstown
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bea McNallys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place took over the old Charlie Brown restaurant and invested quite a bit in renovations. The restaurant is upscale from Charlie Brown and the decor much nicer. Unfortunately that doesn't seem to dissuade the locals from coming in dressed in flip flops, cut-offs and baseball caps, which for some reason many people refuse to remove while dining. A good menu, with a good selection of sea food and quite a selection of bar food. Much of what you would expect in an Irish Pub. Lots of beer choices and a very good dessert menu. It can get loud, usually lots of kids.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average food in a nice, clean setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Met relatives for dinner on a Saturday night. Server recommended the "Fish & Chips" entree as one of the most popular items. While the fish was plump and tasty, there seemed to be more way more chips than fish. My wife ordered the pastrami sandwich which was sent back because it was 95% fat and and soggy which indicates it had been sitting under a heat lamp for awhile. She ordered a replacement dish (ravioli w/cream sauce) which, in my view, was awfully brave for an Irish Pub. Surprisingly, it was good, although a far cry from what an Italian restaurant might prepare. Our relatives order the Corned Beef & Cabbage (good and plentiful portions for anyone) and the Tuna entree and both items were enjoyed. All in all, I'm not sure I'd make the 45 minute trek to dine here again other than for a beer and some appetizers. The place is very nice inside and clean with very friendly servers. One downside is that this place is VERY noisy and the bus staff is EXTREMELY noisy when cleaning up tables. It sounded like they were simply throwing the glassware on the ground vs. into a rubber carrying tray. Part of that has to do with the hardwood floors in the room we were dining in though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as it should be for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I would give the food 3.5 to 4 out of 5 stars, but because of the price of the food I have to give it a 3. The food is decent, but what I enjoyed the most about this restaurant was the atmosphere, the decor, the comfy chairs next to the fireplace. I haven't sat by the bar, so I can't speak to that. The interior is very nicely done, especially after comparing it to what it used to look like when it was Charlie Brown's.

Overall, I give Bea's a "good" review, just not "great."

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend and I went there for dinner. We both had the bangers and mash which was very good. The food came out fast and hot. The Irish soda bread was good plus it came with homemade marmalade. Our waiter Terry was nice. Looks nice inside. Good first time experience. Will come back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Menu and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've been once for lunch on the outside porch and once for dinner inside in one of the cozy dining rooms. Nice varied menu and the Irish dishes looked amazing. Salads were great! Portions for dinner were quite large.Service was great both times. I hear it gets very crowded on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bea McNallys also viewed

 

Been to Bea McNallys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bea McNallys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.