We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be taken better care of” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Rock State Park

Washington Rock State Park
Green Brook, NJ 08812
908 722 1200
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Millington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Needs to be taken better care of”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Saw plenty of trash on grounds and the out house needs to be emptied sooner. It's not safe for children because there isn't any guard rails and some of the brickwork is loose.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a quick trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are nearby, this is definitely worth a quick trip. Takes about 20 minutes, but the view is exceptional. And interesting historical tidbits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Statue and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I took my oldest son here when he was younger, I don't know if he even remembers it, but it has such a great view all the way to New York City. Washington himself stood there and was able to see if ships were coming in from the water over by NY. The decline is protected by a small rock wall and on the other side is a pathway to walk through the woods and encounter many of natures beauty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Statue and View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I took my oldest son here when he was younger, I don't know if he even remembers it, but it has such a great view all the way to New York City. Washington himself stood there and was able to see if ships were coming in from the water over by NY. The decline is protected by a small rock wall and on the other side is a pathway to walk through the woods and encounter many of natures beauty.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“A wonderful piece of NJ history right off Route 22”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This historical site is one of many important to New Jersey's role in the American Revolution. The monument has been there for years...I went when I was a little girl and it highlights the role that this vantage point played in George Washington's battles in an around this area since he could see all the way to NY from this hill. A definite stop for the history buff and a great place to take children to teach them about our state's and nation's history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Rock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.