We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out For Oblivious And Annoying Owner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Cafe

Bridge Cafe
8 Bridge St, Frenchtown, NJ 08825-1228
908-996-6040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 Restaurants in Frenchtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Watch Out For Oblivious And Annoying Owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food is ok, but don't go there during the slow afternoon hours. The owner sits at the table closest to the front door like a pasha, barking loud advice across the room to the young women who work for him ("watch what Iris does, see how hard she works?" that sort of thing) and drumming loudly on the table along with the piped-in music. Can you imagine that sort of obliviousness when customers are having lunch at adjoining tables? Not going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We love Frenchtown and we love the Bridge cafe! Great location -right on the banks of the river - and the menu is varied and delicious, including all of the ice creams and desserts! It's casual dining but it's just what we're looking for when we're out with the children. Wait staff are always very pleasant and the food arrives in good time even when the place is busy. A pleasure to eat there and we'll definitely keep returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve to be quite so badly panned!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited for a late lunch on a Sunday. This restaurant has a prime location near to the hiking trail and river bridge on the main street,
Pleasant atmosphere in the covered area off the main cafe, though would have been better to have not been seated right next to the "not an entrance" door that everyone used as an entrance and exit!
Food - Croque Monsieur - interesting taste but the bread was a bit thick and doughy. French fries should have been cooked at higher temperature as they were a bit soggy, Overall combination was quite plesant though. Mint tea was fresh and hot - well done.
Service - the greeter was a bit offhand. The waitress was efficient. It was a bit strange that when things are quiet some of the waiting staff sit in the main cafe and play cards - not sure if they were on duty or just hanging around!
I guess the price was fair for what we received, but with no more cost the value could be better - its the attention to detail that would put this restaturant up a notch,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect meal and afternoon in Frenchtown with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow - what a lovely afternoon! The food was delicious and perfect for a family afternoon in the sun in French town.

Didn't feel rushed but also didn't have to wait too long - perfect really!

Only thing is the Puds looked out of this world but I resisted :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great little place on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

if you are a picky eater, this might not be the place for you, but as a foodie, I think this place is great! I've been there in the Spring & Summer & both times I was able to enjoy outdoor seating. The service is great but if you have a large party... be prepared to squeeze in! It's located right on the DR Canal Path in Frenchtown & there is a bike lock up near by. you can also park in the lot down by the bridge & walk up...
Great little place with a view of the water, good food & somewhat reasonable prices. Def. will visit again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.