We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The National Hotel to your Saves list
The National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Race Street, Frenchtown, NJ 08825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
River Edge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at the National Hotel for a girls night out. Very hospitable and welcoming. Spent some time at the local winery a 5 minute drive from the hotel. After winery parked car in back and walked into town to do some shopping. Quaint town very friendly people. Ate dinner at the hotel the food was delicious and the service was wonderful. The restaurant is very comfortable, since it was a nice day we ate outside. Later sat on the upper terrace with some evening cocktails. The room was spacious two queen beds and large bathroom. Nightlife was just as fun. Basement bar with great band. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
42
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at The National Hotel in Frenchtown for a one night Girls get away. We stayed in Room 203 which has two queen beds and is upstairs on the right if standing in front of the hotel looking up.

Check in was very easy, the gentleman was extremely nice and promptly showed us to our room.
Beds were very comfortable and clean. Room has a TV and a DVD Player and has good space.
Bathroom was outdated and in need of a facelift. This room has just the shower, not the tub as well.
Some of the accessories in the room needed some updating as well, the foot stools at the base of each bed had been worn so much they were broken open at the bottom. Not a big deal just not visually appealing.
The website notes you have access to the front porch which is true but I mistakenly thought that meant you had a door from your room to the porch. Everyone has access basically to the front porch. You access it through one door on the second floor, so it is neither private nor unique to this particular room rental.
Since the hotel is also a restaurant/bar it can be noisey at night outside your room. I travel with a small sound machine and it was good enough to drown out most of the noise. You can't expect quiet when you are renting a room above a tavern basically. So take that into account if you are an earlier to bed person.
The hotel is an excellent location to all Frenchtown has to offer. The Frenchtown Cafe or the Lovin Oven are great for breakfast, you can walk about 7/10ths of a mile up to Bamboo and have Thai/Sushi - very good food, not great ambiance but clean and nice service. The Frenchtown Hotel and National both serve food and are both good. You can also walk to Euphoria Day Spa which is one of my favorites. Great massages by both Beth Ann and Priscilla.
The hotel has coffee/OJ and muffins in the morning downstairs as well.

All in all, it is a great location just needs a little facelift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A wonderful throwback to centuries gone past, this off-the beaten path, charming Victorian-era B&B made for a welcome respite during a recent foray of New Jersey. The front porch and foyer provided a warm welcome, as did the gentleman behind the registration desk. Looking about while checking in, I was intrigued by the line of harps in what may have once been the parlor of this grand, 1863-built structure. I was informed this establishment is a regular and annual host to many travelling musicians, be they classical, jazz, or rock & roll ilk. Shown to my room, I was impressed with the grandeur and cleanliness, as well as the spaciousness of my room. The furniture is selected and placed to make for an unique hotel experience to each individual guest.
I was shown to the restaurant where a menu was presented that had dishes which made for a difficult decision. Would it be the handmade butternut squash ravioli, the risotto or the braised short ribs with potato-onion confit? Opting for the latter accompanied by a wonderful pinot noir, I was fully sated and slept like a queen. The next morning, welcome aromas of coffee wafted up to my room as I readied for the day. I enjoyed a cup and a pleasant chat with the same gentleman, Marlon, assisting with my checkout. Sent on my merry way, I will look forward to future pleasant and hopefully musical visits when staying at the National Hotel in Frenctown.

Room Tip: Ask the manager, Marlon, he was my guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a girlfriend for "girls' weekend." We had a fabulous time. The manager, Marlon, made sure we felt welcome from start to finish. Lovely room with very comfortable beds. Seemed recently redone. The bar downstairs was fun and crowded! Near all restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this place. We will be sending our husbands on a "guys weekend" and we are a little jealous that we can't join them. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed many times at this hotel. We keep going back because it is charming, and has many old-time features such as nice woodwork (including wide-board floors), a good bar and restaurant, and clean, appealing rooms with excellent sheets. The manager, Marlon, couldn't be nicer, and he is always accommodating. The hotel is in the center of the delightful Frenchtown, and near the wonderful walks along the Delaware River. We recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We just stayed here last night and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in one of the deluxe king rooms with jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable and the room was plenty big for just the two of us for one night. The room was clean and fresh and so was the jacuzzi tub which was quite large. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone passing through or any Hunterdon/Bucks county resident just looking to get away. The local B&B's are nice but way too pricey for just a night or two. Stay here!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 304...king room with jacuzzi and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'll keep it short.

Room: stayed in deluxe room with jacuzzi. Bed very comfortable and room roomy. Some paint was chipping when I stayed. Jaccuzi was roomy and clean had a wonderful time with my wife :)

Restaurant: had dinner down stairs and 2 years later we still talk about the maple blue cheese stake.

Bar: warm friendly no complaints, they had live show.

Comments: good staff they do the small things to work with you. This place offers a very good value, which does not compromise and quality.

One of my favorite b&b in the area hope to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frenchtown
12.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 3 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada New Hope
Ramada New Hope
#1 of 1 in New Hope
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#2 of 2 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Flemington
Hampton Inn Flemington
#1 of 3 in Flemington
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Address: 31 Race Street, Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and luxury at The National Hotel from richly appointed and unique rooms in which to relax and escape today's pressures, to our quality dining choices, where a friendly and attentive staff can help you unwind as you enjoy local flavors of the area, and end your evening in The Rathskeller Pub downstairs. Weekend overnight guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast in a private room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.