We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been cleaner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The National Hotel to your Saves list
The National Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Race Street, Frenchtown, NJ 08825   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Frenchtown B&B and Inns
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could have been cleaner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room was decorated nicely but was dark. When I opened the shades there were bugs on all four of the window sills. Two of the window views were of the roof and there was a soda bottle half filled with liquid and bird droppings within view on the flat top roof. We were registered as a party of four. There were only towels for two people. We called the front desk and more bath towels were delivered but no face cloths! So we had to call again. The same thing with the bottles of water. There were two in the room and we had to ask for two more. It is annoying when the booking was for four people but the management didn't pay attention to the details.

Room Tip: The room on the front side of the building had a lot of street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenationalhotelnj, Owner at The National Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We had our housekeeping staff look into the issues you mentioned & apparently there was a window that had been kept slightly open, which might have been the cause of the bugs on the windowsill you described. As a policy we encourage guests to keep the windows closed as these are original windows to the building (that dates back to well over a century and a half ago) & there are no screens to prevent insects from entering. Our rooms are equipped with newly renovated air conditioning and heating units to keep the temperature at a comfortable level determined by each guest. As far as the towels, we truly apologize for the initial oversight of just placing the 2 sets of towels in the room. When you correctly advised our general manager of the situation, he brought you up the other set, but quickly realized he was missing the washcloths. Unfortunately, by the time he went downstairs to where these had just been delivered to unpack them & bring you a set upstairs to your room, you had already made the other call. We are very grateful that you pointed this out & will make sure to alert our housekeeping staff to make sure that we have the appropriate number of towels & water in the room whenever we have this number of guests in one room. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The National Hotel and to Frenchtown, NJ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    11
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
38
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was great! Really enjoyed the town it was an awesome experience. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, check out the sand castle winery and the town of New Hope PA is worth the 1/2 hour drive!

Room Tip: we stayed in a rear room on the 2nd floor it was very nice, room 205 has a jacuzzi maybe next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Overpriced. ALWAYS check your bill. They are not always accurate. Bread and dessert are not that good. I traveled there a year or so back and it was so much better. (the rolls and desserts that is) Not even in the same category now. The Locals seem nice. If you stay over the weekend...They are not open on Monday so no food. You will have to venture into town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place hast it all: Great food, well priced, wonderful bartenders, fabulous, attentive service and all the local color you could want. Plus, on occasion, it's a good place to get a glimpse of under-the-radar celebrities who have discovered the charm of the Delaware River. Music is always good and if you're up for a real challenge, stop in for a battle of wits on Tuesdays for trivia night with Frenchtown's own Russ Trebek. Always a great time no matter when you stop in - promise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The National Hotel is an amazing place in the small town of Frenchtown! It has the charm of an old school hotel but the nightlife of a new one. The staff is so welcoming that they make you feel like family. The food is beyond amazing and my friends and I even got to meet the chef Lisa who is a very talented individual. Our server Kim was so sweet and helped us with everything we needed. Very great place to take a vacation with friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location and top notch service. Thumbs up to the revitalization of the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raritan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed in the Loft suite, room 207. The private entrance in the back was nice, however the fire department across the street and loud bar-goers made for on/off noise. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones I've ever slept in but the major stains and rolls in the carpeting were kind of a turn-off, especially when expecting a renovated room from the pictures. Also the room had a distinct backward slant to it, but I think some things like that can be expected with a place as old as this. I think for the price ($250 for the single Saturday night stay) I'd look somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Hotel

Address: 31 Race Street, Frenchtown, NJ 08825
Location: United States > New Jersey > Frenchtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frenchtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and luxury at The National Hotel from richly appointed and unique rooms in which to relax and escape today’s pressures, to our quality dining choices, where a friendly and attentive staff can help you unwind as you enjoy local flavors of the area, and end your evening in The Rathskeller Pub downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.