We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tubing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing
1121 State Route 12, Frenchtown, NJ 08825
+1 908-996-5386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Frenchtown
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tubing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed that they charge extra for parking on top of the tubing fee, especially as they post signs that you should not walk up the drive from the free public lot opposite the entrance. And $2 for a link strap rental... really? Top tip - bring some rope! They also advertise reasonably priced river shoes, but $15 isn't reasonable for shoes that can be found in Walmart for about $5, so bring your own shoes as well as the rope! Too many extra charges can build up to make this an expensive outing for a family of 4. And the changing room tent is a joke, no floor boards meaning you are standing on dirt so you come out with either dirty feet or a dirty towel after standing on it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareRiverTubing, Owner at Delaware River Tubing, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the review and criticism - we amenable to all of our comments and suggestions. Unfortunately we cannot change our parking fees as most of them go straight to our rental lot owners. Our Stay-Together-Straps are $2.00 rentals as they are custom built (if you ever get caught on something then the current will typically drag you down into the water and flip your tubes but our straps are built to snap apart when under much duress so that you will safely float apart) and have to replace them often due to wear/tear and the fact that many people lose them on their trip. We are working on improving our changing tents to improve our outfit. But once again, we do appreciate your comments, Thanks - Delaware River Tubing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    43
    19
    15
    63
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't listen to negative nellies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We've used Delaware River Tubing years ago and had a great experience. When I saw the Spinsaver coupon I immediately bought 4 tickets for me and 3 for a friend. Then I started seeing all these negative one star reviews and panicked! We were finally able to use our coupons today (8/26) and I only had 5 people. I brought all 7 vouchers and was able to trade the extra 2 for their cash value and upgrade all our tubes and upgrade the beverage at the Hot Dog man to water. All the staff I spoke with were pleasant, helpful and accommodating. There were no lines, the bus trip to the river was pleasant, the river gorgeous, the tubes and other gear clean, the food fine. No other outfit on the rivers have a snack bar in the middle of the trip-this is what makes DRT stand out. The exit was not at all what the reviews make it out to be. It's muddy but not crazy steep and there is mulch. There were separate buses for gear and people. The changing and bathroom facilities could use an upgrade. That would be my only complaint...if you're gonna charge $7 for parking, put that in a fund to build real bathrooms and changing rooms. Otherwise, thanks for a great day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareRiverTubing, Owner at Delaware River Tubing, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the positive review and comments! We are currently working on improving our changing rooms but unfortunately due to regulations are only allowed Port-O-Johns. We would love to charge less for parking but unfortunately most of those fees go straight to the rental lot we use. Also, we finally got our stairs back in and hopefully that will improve your experience in the future. Thanks so much - Delaware River Tubing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2nd year is a charm..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Me and 10 other friends decided to go river tubing second year in a row. We lucked out with 88 degree weather and sun and we did the 4 hour excursion. Sound like a lot of time but its enough time to float, nap, explore mini islands, etc. We decided to take every path to the right which has some semi-rapid rafts which were fun and woke me up.

Definitely go on a day with good weather because our time FLEW. We also made a mistake and missed the hot dog man on the river for our complimentary food, woops! Next year we will coordinate this a little better to really take advantage of their prices.


*** Coupons are usually available online! Great save $$$

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareRiverTubing, Owner at Delaware River Tubing, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for your positive review, we hope to see you guys out on the river again! Thanks - Delaware River Tubing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really need to think of the cudtomers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 has tubed here several times. With the groupin discount it is very affordable.
I can put up with the long lines, even though we paid in advance, the lack of instruction or supervision, the changing tents.
But yesterday was it.
When you land at the finish there aren't any steps or even flat spaces to step.
The incline is about 35-40 degrees of very silty, slippery mud. No one from the company helps.
My 13 year old daughter started climbing with her tube and fell, slid to bottom into water. The attendants never so much so muched as asked her if she was ok or needed help. Actually people laughed and clapped.
Nice way to end a day.
All this is within sight of the tubing place across the river, which, get this, has a landing and is way cheaper.
For the amount of people the company gets to tube, they could and should be able to get their act together.
Too bad, won't go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareRiverTubing, Owner at Delaware River Tubing, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. Thank you for your input about our exit and our exit staff. We are truly sorry about the condition of our exit last year, we were having problems getting the correct permits and we do understand your consternation. Fortunately, we will have stairs at the start of this year once again. We are hiring new staff this year and hope that if you do come to us in the future you will let us know if you receive any subpar service. Thanks again - Delaware River Tubing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cross the bridge into PA and raft from River Country”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Floated down the Delaware River today as we have for the past 5 years. Because of a Groupon we decided to stay on the Jersey side instead of venturing into PA (River Country, Pnt Pleasant, PA). As expected, the river was beautiful and so was the ride down. Dealing with the Delaware River Company was an entirely different story. There set up is very unorganized. Too many lines to wait on and their staff if not rude was not very helpful. The bus situation getting their guests to and from the river is also ridiculous. The Groupon deal is defintely not worth it Cross the bridge into PA and set off from River Country. Will not recommend this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelawareRiverTubing, Owner at Delaware River Tubing, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of our company, we're sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We are working on improving all aspects of our operations continuously to improve customer experience and hope you may try us again in the future and show that to you. Thanks again - Delaware River Tubing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaware River Tubing also viewed

Been to Delaware River Tubing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delaware River Tubing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.