We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ambiance, So So Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Trattoria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Solo Trattoria
7 South St, Freehold, NJ 07726
732-780-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Solo Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 147 Restaurants in Freehold
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main street 79
Description: Welcome to Solo Trattoria! Located in the heart of Downtown Freehold Borough, we deliver a memorable dining experience. With a pleasant atmosphere and delicious unique dishes, yours will surely be a night to remember. In the Fall of 2005, Piergiorgio Ceciarelli opened a restaurant with a goal - to serve the best food with the warmest service and atmosphere. Piergiorgio Ceciarelli formed the heart and soul of Solo Trattoria. Piergiorgio Ceciarelli has been a restaurateur for 20 years. He started in South Florida where he built a reputation for excellent food, warm and fun atmosphere, and genuine heartfelt service. Winning the award for "Best Restaurant Owner 2001". Citi Link said, "…always has a warm smile when he greets you and a grateful thank you when he bids you 'Ciao' at the end of a meal". Originally from Rome, he has lived in California, Mexico, Florida, and now New Jersey, where he resides with his wife and children.
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, So So Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently dined here as a family group. Service was efficient and friendly as was the ambiance.

Some entrees were better than others.

Please do not order the veal. Pounding veal to tenderize and cook evenly is one thing. Pulverizing it so that it is like a piece of swiss cheese is out right murder. Steaming the meat only added insult to injury.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Staff needs to be informed about details of the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Six friends (ladies) had wonderful time, host was wonderful. BYOB keeps the price down. Excellent food. When asking our waiter what was on a "veggie pizza" and the response is "I am not sure" is not an acceptable answer. A bit more attentiveness to a larger table would have been more adequate. Delicious appy's and tip would have reflected same if service would have been higher if the waiter showed more interest. In these economic times, you must bring your game up to par. The borough of Freehold has lots of restaurants/pubs so if you truly want to bring in the business, you must inform the staff as to what the menu consists of and make a reasonable effort to please your guests. Have a staff meeting and a mock table service so all staff is well informed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything was okay but nothing really knocked our socks off. Don't regret going there but won't rush back. If someone said they wanted to meet there, I'd do it but don't think I'll suggest it on my own. Again, not bad; just middle of the road.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprising Italian Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Freehold boasts bad restaurants except for a few. Solo is one of the few standouts. That is evident by the wait on a Saturday bight .....and patrons stay to wait even thought they do not have a liquor license. We showed up without a reservation at 8pm on a Saturday night which is the worst time to do so in Freehold. But armed with a huge bottle of wine we sat in the waiting area for 30 minutes sipping our wine without a care in the world. When we finally sat we were not happy with our seats and requested a change which was addressed immediately and we were seated in a more appropriate table. The food was excellent. The service was in-experienced but willing young people....The owner is very kind and very involved. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“S-l-O-W Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There were people waiting for seats when we arrived with a party of six on a Saturday evening.

After being seated it was a twent minute wait foe water and menus. After ordering it was close to an hour to get the food. Two Salmon orders were raw (gelatinous) inside

Other dishes were ok.

Needs a visit from Gordon Ramsey to get the kitchen and wait staff up to speed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Solo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.