We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food overshadowed by poor etiquette” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant

Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant
3475 Route 9, Freehold, NJ
+1 732-761-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Freehold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Three Brooks Rd
Description: Chef Ash introduces Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant. Our menu brings together many splendid cuisines, such as Italian, Spanish, French, Moroccan and Greek. With such a diverse menu, we look to please all palates, from the casual diner to the most sophisticated foodie. Our goal is to ensure that the presentation, cuisine and service foster an equally accessible atmosphere to everyone Lemon will be the ideal spot for any occasion! Coupons or discounts not valid with open table reservations.
Howell, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Good food overshadowed by poor etiquette”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food was very good but there were a few things that left a bad taste in our mouth. There were 5 other tables sat around us and the chef went around to everyone and introduced himself..except our table. He made contact for a second but never acknowledged us. When dinner was done, someone came and took our plates away. We sat after that for a good 7 minutes with no one asking if we wanted dessert or a check. When a 16 year old finally came over and asked if we wanted dessert, we said we just wanted the check. We sat again for another 7 minutes with no one asking if we needed anything. Also I was bothered by the hostess's lack of awareness that her pot belly was too big for her tight shirt. I might give them another try in a few months

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant has many deserving great reviews, which is why we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed! Chef Ash chatted with us and made us laugh. His food is excellent, very fresh and delicious. The menu is very interesting, with a variety of cuisines from Italian to Greek to Moroccan. Tip - bring your own wine and get there early as it does get busy. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't believe I didn't find this gem sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After living in this area for almost 9 years, we wanted to try a new restaurant. Of course I went on Trip Advisor and found the number one rated restaurant in Freehold is Lemon. We weren't disappointed. The menu is a diverse offering of Italian, Moroccan and Greek inspired dishes. So much to choose from. They start you off with the smoothest hummus I've ever had along with warmed pita bread. Fried feta zucchini cakes were light, fresh and wonderful. Gnocchi was so sublime, like little pasta pillows, with a lovely sauce and chunks of eggplant. And the warm cranberry white chocolate bread pudding, served with vanilla ice cream, is to die for.

Just a shout out to the servers. Unbelievably attentive. It's a BYOB. When I mentioned I had forgotten my bottle at home, they came out with two glasses of Malbec (for those who don't know NJ law, if you don't have a liquor license, you can't sell alcohol but you can give it at no cost). What a wonderful gesture to new customers.

Go, go, go to this restaurant if you get the chance. It's wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lemon Mediterranean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We tried this restaurant following the excellent reviews on trip advisor. We spent a week travelling in New Jersey & New York and were looking for some good local restaurants to try. The food here was excellent, probably the best hummus I have ever tasted. My husband felt the portion sizes could have been bigger. One good thing was that the chef stopped at each table to ask if everything was ok. My husband mentioned the portion size and within a few minutes the chef had brought him out a second meal. I think he was lucky as the cookery school was on next door and they happened to be cooking the dish my husband had ordered, but still, it was good service.
Overall an enjoyable meal but a bit overpriced I felt. Also worth mentioning that it is BYO.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Mediterranean Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were very fortunate to be in town to try the new Lemon restaurant from Chef Ash, who is a longtime friend and colleague. We were delighted by his menu which features a contemporary blend of Mediterranean cuisine. The menu is eclectic but very exciting and incorporates a wide variety of meats, fruits, vegetables and sauces. The service is top notch. If you want to change up your status quo of regular restaurants, run not walk to Lemon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon Mediterranean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.