We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Yard Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Market Yard Grille
18-20 East Main Street, The American Hotel, Freehold, NJ 07728
732-431-3220
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Yard Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 147 Restaurants in Freehold
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Street
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went with friends, their suggestion. Nice place, 3 of them had mix drinks, they all said they were good.
Had beef negamaki & calamari apps, very good. 3 of us had burgers, very good. Wife had chicken sandwich, (I had as a leftover, very good). Nice atmosphere, friendly waiter. Will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mostly good but cold prime rib”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I held off on this hoping the restaurant would respond to our problem, but they haven't. We were there two weeks ago and some things were great, but at least one wasn't. First, when we reserved ahead, we asked for a booth, and sure enough we got one. So far so good. As soon as we sat down, rolls and water arrived. One of the rolls was very stale. Not so good, but they brought replacements right away. The service was great from start to finish. The appetizers were excellent. We had the clams and sauteed artichoke. My stuffed veal chop was amazing. Now the problem. My wife ordered what they call slow roasted grilled prime rib. My wife order it rare. The waiter offered to check to see if there was any rare left. There was, he said. When it arrived it looked great, but it was actually cooked medium and was ice cold in the middle. And I mean ice cold, right out of the frig and onto the grill for a couple of minutes. We called the waiter over and he said rare was always cold. He couldn't comprehend it wasn't even rare. So rather than start from scratch, my wife ate it, more or less. Moral of the story, unless you want well-done prime rib, don't order it. The next day she called the manager and again today. No response. We would like to go back (though certainly not for the prime rib) but they don't seem to consider us important enough to call. The dessert was quite good also, by the way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great lamb chops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went there with several people. My wife and I both had the lamb t-bones. They were delicious. I highly recommend them. We ended up with a dessert of little cheesecake balls sitting atop pineapple. Not so great for the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Easter brunch was terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For $35.00 per adult, the Market Yard Grille (aka The American Hotel restaurant) provided a lovely Easter Sunday brunch that rivaled the one at The Molly Pitcher Inn and, in some ways, surpassed it. Special touches at The Market Yard Grille included a fabulous shellfish bar, with jumbo peeled shrimp, oysters, clams, and mussels. They provided some kid-friendly choices such as chicken nuggets and fries, which is so logical but, in our experience, so rare. In anticipation of the big crowds at today's sold-out brunch, half of the main dining room was used for brunch serving stations and extra seating was in the adjacent banquet rooms. As a result, there were very few lines for food, as there were multiple stations and plenty of room. Clearly, the management knows how to handle-- and please-- large groups of people. The brunch included stir fry stations, pasta stations, carving stations, eggs cooked to order, a salad bar, charcuterie, smoked salmon with all the trimmings, antipasto, a big selection of desserts, continental breakfast bar with danish, bagels, croissants and cereal, complimentary Bloody Mary's or Mimosa's and chafing dish selections. Those included French toast, bacon, sausage, potatoes, eggs Benedict, two kinds of chicken, stuffed flounder, eggplant rollatini, shrimp scampi, veggies and more. Soft drinks and coffee were included. Service was friendly and, despite the crowds, coffee cups were kept full. My only two suggestions? Have a chafing dish of scrambled eggs so guests don't have to wait for that at the egg station, and serve hot water for tea in pots since the coffee cups are small. One tea bag really needs more water than those cups can hold. But those are very minor things. We lived this brunch and think that the staff did a great job.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge portions - with a little something extra”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had high hopes for our meal that were dashed as soon as I bit into my dinner roll. It had a little something extra: a hair was baked into the roll. Disgusting. When I told the waiter he shrugged his shoulders, pointed to his shaved head and indicated that the hair could not have come from his head. He did not even remove the offending plate or bread basket from the table. I ordered the braised short ribs and was served a mammoth portion of fork-tender meat bathed in a delicious, rich gravy. The second bite brought yet more hair. I think that we will not visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Yard Grille also viewed

 

Been to Market Yard Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Yard Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.