We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Hotel

American Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added American Hotel to your Saves list
American Hotel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   18-20 East Main Street, Freehold, NJ 07728   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Freehold B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for our "mini" vacation to six flags for two nights with our 11 year old. I wasn't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We had Originally intended to stay at the Raddison, which was sold out, so this was the next acceptable choice. The hotel is updated and clean, located within a cute downtown area with a lot of dining choices and convieneces within walking distance ie: drugstore, liquor store, ect.
The rooms and hotel common spaces were newly renovated. Not much of a view to speak about, but for the amount of time we actually spent in the hotel, it was perfect. Check in and out were easy. We would certainly return, although the prices are a bit higher than other options for six flags, it made our "staycation" seem more like a vacation.
We were on the third floor and noise was not a problem, but it was a weeknight. My only complaint was that there were 2 full size beds, not queen size beds in a doubke room. The beds were comfortable, but smaller than you would expect. TV in bathroom was a nice touch. My husband missed having a gym on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love how quaint this hotel is. Despise being in the East Coast setting where most of building structure are "old", this hotel has all the amenities that make my stay very comforting. It's a good size room with very comfy bed. I've read reviews of the wall being thin but for the whole night we were there, didn't hear much or maybe we were too tired from a wedding we attended just before checking in. The staff were very friendly! They didn't give me a hard time for checking out late and were very pleasant about it when I informed them that we overslept and won't be out for another hour. We missed the continental breakfast so no rating there. Overall, I'm happy with American Hotel and their staff! Would love to stay there again next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for one night, and loved it. Great room, quiet aircondition, TV in the bathroom, a fridge and a safe in the room. Nice staff, parking in the back, remember to park between the yellow lines, and get a permit from reception. Great location on main street, lots of people on the sidewalk at night, eating at the restaurants there. Ate breakfast outdoors as the restaurant did/was not open for breakfast. Would have loved to stay here longer, both because of the hotel, but also the town of Freehold. Freehold is a Picture Perfect small town!

Room Tip: 303 was great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were not impressed with the service for the price of the rooms. There isn't a pool or really anything for children to do. The rooms were nice and large but beds were uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin.
They offered a continental breakfast that was lacking. The staff seemed angry at having to deal with people.
I would say this hotel is way overpriced for the service they offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very charming and quaint, located in the middle of Main Street Freehold.... A really good location without bars and Resturants. The hotel lobby is comfotable and charming, the rooms are newly renovated with very comfortable beds and linens. Complimentary soaps and lotions as well in the room. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The only High end Steak like house in Town. Music for Adults is great too. Terrific service and atmosphere. Great for couples and for a date . Expect to pay ...pricey. We both had steak and loved it. We have also gone to the bar only and it is also fun for adults over 35....not a kids place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Sunday Brunch at the American Hotel was great. They have a wide variety of food items to choose from. The omelet station was the most popular one. The servers are always on hand to take away your dirty plates. They would even fold up your linen napkins while you are at the buffet to fill up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Hotel

Address: 18-20 East Main Street, Freehold, NJ 07728
Location: United States > New Jersey > Freehold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Freehold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.