We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Irish Pub without the airfare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Cottage Inn Pub & Restaurant

Irish Cottage Inn Pub & Restaurant
602 Route 23 North, Franklin, NJ
973-827-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
“An Irish Pub without the airfare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

By all accounts this is most authentic. The Irish fare is exactly what you would be served in a great restaurant in Ireland, right down to a great PInt!. All the food is generous in portions and there is quite a variety to choose from on the menu. The price is quite reasonable. The staff are AWESOME, . and that means allot as they are the face of the business. The owners come around to tables to say hello and make sure you are "doing okay". If you are a regular customer you will soon hear them call you by name, as they genuinely know almost everyone who comes in their doors if not as you enter for certain as you leave.
They have great St.Patrick's Day celebration yearly.This year 2014 it will be 3 days, this event has all the sounds of Ireland. You can hear LIVE Irish music, Bagpipers and even Irish step dancers. You would think you were in Ireland from the moment you went thru the front doors of the Thatched Roof of the building(put on by real thatchers from Ireland.) Sure you will be talking with a brogue ( irish accent) before you go ut the front doors to your car. All without paying the airfare to go over the pond to Ireland. Don't miss out on the Irish Breakfast as well during the St Patricks Day(s) celebration. From 8-11am Sat, Sunday and Monday!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Awesome service. Great atmosphere and good food. Perfect combination for a friday nite get away. Thanks. We def. be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Mouth in your month Corned Beef Rubeun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The best Rubeun I have ever tasted :)
Great staff. Friendly and attentive. Looking forward to my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, New York
1 review
“Best Meat EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Once again my visit to the Irish Cottage Inn did not disappoint me! The atmosphere is warm, kind and kid friendly. The roaring fire is a welcoming site on a cold winter day. I try to order something new with each visit but seemed to be drawn to the Irish Fare. The generous portions always allow me to take something home for the next day which I love. The staff is quite attentive and it is always an overall fabulous dining experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a regular place for us for a long time The food was always very good especially the steak and prime rib. We had not been there for about a year. We heard that there was new ownership so we went with some trepidation. Our concerns were confirmed. The service was friendly and excellent as usual. We ordered our usual steak for me, prime rib for my wife. The steak was skinny and tough and the prime rib looked like it had been reheated on the grill.

We wondered why, on a Saturday night, there were so many empty tables. Now we know why.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Cottage Inn Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Irish Cottage Inn Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Cottage Inn Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.