We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the mood for Japanese/Chinese?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wok and Sushi

Wok and Sushi
Rt 23, Franklin, NJ 07416
(973) 827-5662
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wok and Sushi is a very fine Japanese/Chinese restaurant that is family owned and well taken care of---all the family works there. Their food is fabulous though a little pricey, but well worth it. Good service as you might expect what with family taking care of you----try it and you have two countries to chose from.
Roscoe, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In the mood for Japanese/Chinese?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I liked everything there. The food is fresh and hot and served in very good time. The owner or relative do come to check on your food to make sure it's satisfactory. Don't really dislike anything except when they speak their language---if you know a little Japanese or Chinese, you've got it made. Have been there many times with my family and it's always top-notch.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Take the Whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I visit this restaurant several times a year. The sushi is Great! And the waiters are patient to explain to you the different types...we like to try them all and we are never disappointed. Kids can't eat with chopsticks? They'll make a "cheat" pair for them (and I must admit I use them myself). Take the whole family there...you'll not be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“It's a family place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We go to this place with family few times a year. It is local place with nice owner who is going out of his way to make everything nice. I saw many families with kids, grandparents, also couples and teens - everyone seemed to be happy with food and service. Chinese food is oily and it's a lot of fried dishes so if you don't like it order sushi - they are good! Service is prompt, place is very clean and inviting. Location is excellent. Very nice for informal dinner out with the whole family. Our son even bought us a gift certificate for Wok and Sushi for Christmas. He knew we will be pleased.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My family and I love Work 'n Sushi. The owner is a very nice man who used to own another Chinese restaurant in the area. He always greets me with a hello and handshake. The food at Work 'n Sushi is consistently excellent, the atmosphere pleasantly lively and very clean, and the service attentive and prompt. It doesn't get much better. Don't miss it. Reasonably priced too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice Location , nice ambience, food does not stand up to it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The place has a great location , right on RT 23.The landscaping and restaurant itself are very inviting.The inside is clean, well planned and pretty with the usual fish tank.
Fresh flowers were at every table.
The food however is something to be desired.I ordered the chow mein, spicy pork,a tpfu stir fry and a beef dish.
Every dish came swimming in oil and had no flavor whatsoever, things that said sicy were bland and there was no flavor to anything other than soy sauce and sugar.I was very dissapointed with everything and will not be going to this place again.
Prices were comparable for lunch with it's contemporaries.
the Staff were so not into their jobs and it felt like they could not wait to get rid of teh customers and go to sleep.They were not even trying tomake anything inviting.
teh table next to me ordered the sushi and to me it looked very badly made, untidy and very unappetizing - so i dod not even want to try it.
nothing looked pretty. I was so disspaointed with this place as i would have lovved to keep going back to this location.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Wok and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.