We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought hotels were supposed to make you want to stay there???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2117 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Natick, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I thought hotels were supposed to make you want to stay there???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent the past weekend at the Double Tree by Hilton on Fort Lee NJ for a soccer tournament. This hotel did just about everything it could to make its guests not feel like coming back. One would think that if i asked for directions to the closest Dunkin Donuts and back to the hotel somebody there could help me? Wrong. It was not even a 1/2 mile away but i had to stop at a police station to get directions back. One would think that rooms come with a small refrigerator for leftovers and drinks. Wrong!!! If you want to pay $15 you can get a refrigerator. One would think that the hotel owns a microwave to allow somebody to reheat a coffee. Wrong again. One would think that with a 1/2 dozen plus soccer teams staying at the hotel that they might have printed directions to the fields or at least know where they are. Wrong again!!! One would think that with our group being the ONLY group in the bar, that we would not have to squeeze into a small area to allow guests to sit at the tables. Wrong. What guests? We were the only ones in the bar. One would think that on a saturday afternoon with 15+ kids swimming in the pool that there would be towels for the kids. Wrong again. Unless all the kids were supposed to share the 1 towel. This hotel did everything it could to make you feel like you were putting them out by having you stay there. Never again. With the number of hotels in the area, i would definately skip this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your experience, I assure you what you experienced is NOT the norm. Please accept my sincerest apology for the challenges you experienced and I would like the opportunity to discuss further with you, please email me at ron.droegmyer@hilton.com

Ron Droegmyer
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    149
    94
    54
    23
See reviews for
137
74
41
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a good hotel for a short one night business stay. The area is not ideal but the hotel is what you'd expect for a double tree.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel is nice. The staff was professional and cordial. The area is not as desirable, but definitely not dangerous. You have other small motels around the vicinity, not to mention a nightclub next door (more of eyesores). It may be a bit cumbersome to get to due to its location, but you can easily see it from the highway.

The room was clean, comfortable and efficient. The beds are always a treat at Doubletree. Generally, they are clean, refreshing, luxurious and cozy. There isn't really anything bad to say about this Doubletree. If you want to be near the Newark and La Guardia airports, this is a good bet. If you like to be close enough to get to Manhattan without paying the NY hotel rates, this is ideal. The hotel offers a shuttle service to downtown Manhattan for perhaps $10 per person each way. If you don't have a car, this might be the way to go. If you have a car, you might want to drive around the area. There's some delicious, authentic Korean bakeries and restaurants in Fort Lee. Also, you will find plenty of shopping malls and nearby Paramus.

Since the hotel is on the George Washington Bridge, make sure you have money for the tolls. Know where you're going before you end up driving back and forth on it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Lee/George Washington Bridge. We take pride in being able to offer all our guests a memorable experience. Our Team Members are what makes our property truly amazing and we will definitely pass on our positive comments to all of them. Thank you again for your amazing review and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,

Ron Droegmyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ball, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

On a recent trip to Edgewater, NJ we stayed at the Doubletree Fort Lee. I wasn't expecting much as it's not in the nicest area. There were 7 of us travelling. The price was very good, considering it's proximity to NYC ($132). We booked 2 adjoining rooms with 2 doubles each. We were upgraded to 2 adjoining rooms...1 with a King and one with 2 doubles. 2 roll-aways (which were just as comfy as the beds) were brought at no charge. Extra pillows were brought quickly. When we rented a movie for the boys and it didn't work, the charge was removed immediately. We were greeted with hot chocolate chip cookies, bottled water, and friendly faces. The lounge was wonderful, breakfast was great, the staff was helpful. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at this hotel and would definately choose it again were we to travel to that area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Lee/George Washington Bridge. We take pride in being able to offer all our guests a memorable experience. Our Team Members are what makes our property truly amazing and we will definitely pass on our positive comments to all of them. Thank you again for your amazing review and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,

Ron Droegmyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights when we were visiting relatives in the NJ-NYC area. We were greeted with warm cookies when we arrived. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and caring. Everyone associated with the hotel up to and including the general manager were considerate and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and attractive. Nice workout room. Nice indoor pool. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Right over the highway so choose a room on an upper floor, if traffic noise bothers you. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Lee/George Washington Bridge. We take pride in being able to offer all our guests a memorable experience. Our Team Members are what makes our property truly amazing and we will definitely pass on our positive comments to all of them. Thank you again for your amazing review and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,

Ron Droegmyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Mississippi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The hotels accommadation was nice. It was impeccably clean BUT the main trouble of the stay was the lack of organization the front desk staff had. We were constantly hastled for the billing of room service when we ALWAYS PAID IT RIGHT UPON DELIVERY because we always paid with a credit card instead of charging it to the room. Not only that, our passport for the room was faxed 3 times before they realized they had it. Eating breakfast in the VIP lounge was a bust as well. We were constantly asked if we were guest in the hotel during breakfast and to verify our room number. I don't know if Fort Lee is familiar with people of African American ethnicity or they're just not familiar with young African Americans being occupants in the double tree.
WE WERE SATISFIED WITH THE SERVICE THAT WAS RENDERED BY MARLIO. OUR FRIENDLY AND CAUTIOUS DRIVER ON THE LAST NIGHT HERE.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I do apologize for the deficiencies you noted with your experience, I will certainly share them with our team to review. I do hope that you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust, as our goal is to insure 100% satisfaction. If I can be of any assistance with future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at ron.droegmyer@hilton.com. Hope to see you return
Ron Droegmyer General Manager,Doubletree by Hilton Fort Lee/Washington Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel, located just to the west of the George Washington Bridge, to avoid outrageous fees at Manhatten hotels. The price was right. The hotel is very nice, room comfortable, food adequate. They have a shuttle going into and returning from mid-town Manhatten eight times a day. $10.00 each way per person. As long as you can time your activities around the shuttle, you are in great shape. Even hiring a driver to get you into the city makes it more cost effective than paying $400-500 a night. My only complaint is that I noticed something had splashed/spilled on the inside of our room door. I notified the front desk of this and later that night checked to see if it had been cleaned. What actually had been done was the top of the door was smeared around a little, and nothing was actually cleaned on the inside of the door. This was pretty disappointing that housekeeping couldn't do their job a little better,......but that seems to be the state of affairs as far as people taking pride in their work these days. Overall, a really nice hotel. Location is terrific and the price sure is right! Would definitely stay there again. On a side note: after returning home, I realized that I had left a program/book in our room. I called the manager the next day. He checked on it, called me back immediately, located the book and mailed it to me that day!!! Terrific!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonD D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Lee/George Washington Bridge. We take pride in being able to offer all our guests a memorable experience. Our Team Members are what makes our property truly amazing and we will definitely pass on our positive comments to all of them. Thank you again for your amazing review and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards,

Ron Droegmyer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge

Address: 2117 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge is just minutes from the George Washington Bridge, Midtown Manhattan, and MetLife Stadium in Fort Lee, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a meal at Café Milano or Sugi, complimentary Wi-Fi, & shuttle service to/from Manhattan. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. Explore many Fort Lee area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Doubletree
Hilton Fort Lee
Fort Lee Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.