We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for our 1 night stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fort Lee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fort Lee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
portsmouth, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for our 1 night stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

I spent much time on the internet searching for a hotel within close proximity to Yankee Stadium. I somehow came across this hotel which when mapped out was only about 3-5 miles away. I read other reviews on trip advisor re: this and other hotels in Fort Lee and as well the Bronx (near Yankee Stadium). I chose this hotel based on these reviews. We drove up from Virginia EARLY in the morning and arrived at about 10 AM. Audi, who was working at the front desk, accomodated our request to check in early by calling housekeeping to see if a King NS room was ready - fortunately for us weary travelers it was and she checked us in right away!! THANK YOU! Not being from the area, and reading other reviews about public transportation to and from the stadium we were hesitant to attemp the bus/train.... routes and after ditching our initial decision to use a cab to and from the game - we instead chose to drive. The hotel provided us with simple written directions which were more than likely correct, we just got a bit confused by the construction at the new stadium.... The breakfast buffet was a bit on the cool side (temperature wise), but for 9.95, all you can eat, near NYC - it was acceptable. The room was fairly spacious and clean. We were on the back side of the building so it was nice and quiet. Our GPS was a lifesaver getting back from the stadium at night, in the rain, after missing the exit once over the bridge. We would definitely use this hotel again when we go back to a game at the NEW stadium.

  • Liked — Reasonably close proximity to Yankee Stadium for driving over or taking a cab
  • Disliked — Route 4 is VERY busy! It was VERY difficult to get out of parking lot and accelerate into traffic
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
39
27
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Spent a long weekend at this motel to watch a couple of Yankee games and take in a few NYC attractions. The rooms were slightly above the Holiday Inn average. The breakfast was okay but I personally preferred to get a bagel in the city. One advantage to the motel restaurant is that kids eat free with an adult. All was great until we tried to use the bus to return to the hotel. Going into the city works like a charm. You go out to the bus stop at the gas station next door and you are at the 178th subway station in just a few minutes. To return the bus will let you out at the next overpass after the motel and walk up the side of the road with no sidewalk or street lights for approximately 1/2 mile. I just read where the HI is investing in some type of motel transportation to the city. That will encourage me to use this motel again.

  • Disliked — returning via public bus system
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was our first stay and we were very pleased with this hotel. If you have a car, it's a breeze into the city. Free parking and the hotel is a mile from the GWB. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, both our room and public areas. The food at the restaurant was suprisingly good! The hotel staff were very helpful and always cheerful. The pool was a little chilly but clean and the kids enjoyed it. USA Today delivered each weekday morning to our room. Small bar with pool table off the lobby was also good. We will stay here each time we visit NYC. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Room, service,pool
  • Disliked — pool not heated, no jacuzzi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, MI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

The hotel is very nice. We had a nice room and it was very clean but the front desk staff seemed bothered by everything, oh well.

The down side of the hotel is the location. To get into the city was easy. We took the bus from right out side the hotel to the subway station in Washington Hts., NY. Getting back however was a problem. When traveling at night we were advised by all not to go back through Washington Hts. So, no problem we'll take the bus. But, because the hotel is on the opposite site of the street then the bus stop, on a Hwy. you cannot cross it was advised by the hotel to take a cab from a plaza just over the G.W bridge, well, there are no cab's just driving around to pick you up. We called the cab company that the hotel provided and they had no body available to pick us up. Just inconvenient waiting and we found our own driver at a gas station to take us to the hotel. It was late at night and was a little more convenient during the day. So pack your patience if your staying here and going back and forth from NYC.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFortLee, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 9, 2008
So you know, as of November 2008 we will be getting van transportation to and from the Holiday Inn and the 178th St subway station in NYC.
We've seen a lot of comments about the transportation issue and we are addressing it. Thank you very much for your comments. Just wanted to know that yes, we do listen!

Nick Searles
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Fort Lee
201.944.5000 Ext 349
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

The Holiday Inn in Fort Lee, NJ is a fine option when visiting the upper, upper west side of Manhattan. We were visiting family during Thanksgiving and wanted a place close to the west 180's, near Fort Tyron/the Cloisters. Knowing our options were limited on the Manhattan
side in that area, we chose to stay in Ft. Lee and were very happy with our decision. Not only was the price great ($121/night over the holiday 3 days! AAA rate) but there was no traffic on the GWB either way and it was an easy ride into the city. B/c we had a car, we did not use public transportation so don't know how easy it is to access.

The hotel itself is not particularly lovely and the location is positively dreary but the staff was terrific, and the hotel room was clean, with fine amentities. There was even a pillow menu! We had a problem with a running toilet and called the front desk. A repair man came to our room within minutes and fixed the problem immediately and pleasantly. We asked for a room on the backside, away from the highway, and it was very quiet (no car noise) and looked out on the beautiful trees in full fall color. The heater/air conditioner unit was quite noisy but it provided background white noise which drowned out any ambient noise from other guests or the hallway. The pool area was closed for the winter but looked in good shape. The breakfast nook
was fine and the homecooked poached eggs were actually delicious.

We found the lobby area a bit depressing and kind of dirty, with the coffee area (nice touch--free coffee) very messy.

If I was a first time tourist to NYC or wanted to immerse myself in the city, I probably would not stay here but if you want to save hundreds of dollars, don't mind a quick ride across the George Washington Bridge, and can put up with a very ugly location, then the Holiday Inn is a perfectly adequate option to the noise, bustle and rip-off prices of NYC.

  • Liked — proximity to NYC--the upper, upper west side
  • Disliked — ugly area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I did not have high expectations of a Holiday Inn right on a busy highway. However, this hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. It was fresh and spotless, every employee we encountered was exceedingly kind and professional, the continental breakfast was a bargain by NY standards (around $7). Comfortable beds, very nice room, and an inviting outdoor pool area, which we did not get a chance to use.

If you find yourselves near the George Washington Bridge (Yankee game, traffice into the city, acitivity in upper Manhattan...), give this hotel a try. The price was great ($139/nt) compared with anything you'll find in the city. Parking is outdoors and free. Try that in Manhattan!

No, I am NOT an employee!

  • Liked — Attractive and spotless in a busy location
  • Disliked — Some street noise (inevitable at location)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Address: 2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fort Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the George Washington Bridge, your Gateway to New York City!. Located in Fort Lee, New Jersey, our hotel is positioned for easy access into New York City, just minutes from Manhattan. Situated between La Guardia Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport, this Holiday Inn is convenient to New York shopping, a day at Yankee Stadium or relax at our Outdoor Pool (Memorial Day to Labor Day).Enjoy a relaxing stay at the New York area's best-kept secret!Local corporations include Unilever, LG, Samsung, CitiGroup and AGFA. Also, we are right in the center of colleges such as FDU, Manhattan College, Columbia University and Fordham University. Family and friends stay at the Holiday Inn of Fort Lee when visiting relatives at NY Columbia Presbyterian Hospital, Holy Name Hospital, Englewood Hospital, Hackensack Medical Center or Palisade General Hospital. So, stay where everyone in the know stays...the Holiday Inn GWB-Fort Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.