We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Fort Lee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fort Lee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Fort Lee
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at this property on four occasions when doing safety training at Columbia Medical Center, usually 2-3 nights per stay. The hotel is comfortable and the food is very good. An added plus in the complimentary shuttle service to the Medical Center and to local places such as the A&P Store. I will continue to stay at this property on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
31
26
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

No frills, but above average for the price. Its not a palace, and the view of Rt. 4 and 95 are less than breathtaking. But, its super easy to jump on the GWB and get in and out of the city. Staff was very nice, food was ok, room was clean. Totally worth the price for its proximity to NYC. Good place to spend the night. Thats it.
Only negative was the AC unit. When it came on it sounded like a 747 taking off in the room.
No biggie, we shut it off.

Room Tip: Top floor is smoking and really smells like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane H, Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you John S. for your assessment of our property. It is always an on going effort to maintain quality and service for our valued guests. So, your feed has not fallen upon deaf ears! Thanks again John.

Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our first time in NYC and decided to stay away but close enough to Manhattan. Prepare to pay the $13 toll entering. Into NYC. As you can imagine this is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect the all the luxury that comes with it. But the rooms was clean and beds comfortable. The wifi worked in the rooms so that was a plus. Shopping was our main focus so I would also recommend shopping outlet malls in Jersey where there's no sales tax. Starbucks is just a minute away off route 4 so you can stop by and pick a coffee before heading into NYC.

Room Tip: There's no spa that's why I only gave 1 rating?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you Molet123 for your honest feedback! It is a never ending quest to bring 5 star quality service to our guests' on a daily basis. I hope you were able to experience our newly renovated Sundeck and pool facility, if not, I invite you to stay with us again and enjoy Holiday Inn Fort Lee outdoors. I will be here to greet you. Thanks again Molet123.

Duane H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Yes, this hotel was build a long time ago, and the recent refurbishment is not too bad, but overall you get the impression it is old. It was clean that was for sure so no complaints there. The rooms are spacious and the beds are of good quality. Wifi is free. For the surrounding area you have to realize nothing is there, the hotel is just alongside the highway. For that reason we stayed in the hotel for diner. That was just so-so,not so special, not so tastefull. We skipped the breakfast in the morning. I do not think i would go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane H, Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your well conceived thoughts on our hotel Peter Eijsbouts, your insight has brought to our attention some areas that we will focus on. It is a never ending quest to better ourselves, therefore, you feedback is valued!. Thanks again Peter!

Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Holiday Inn just beyond the GW Bridge in NY is obviously an old property, that has had some remodeling and updating, but is showing its age. It has absolutely NO amenities, except for the fridge and microwave, compared to its newer brethren and even the newer Holiday Inn Express locations. While the rooms were clean and had large flat screen TV's with High Def programming, the hallways were dreary and the elevators looked like refugees from an old department store. The personnel were friendly and helpful, but the wifi was so weak in the room we had to go the front desk to get it to install itself in our smartphone. It held but was not very fast when we got back to the room and used it. The beds were moderately comfortable with numerous pillows on them and did not appear to have any unwanted guests hiding in the bedsheets. There was no free coffee/tea save for the couple of pods left in the room AFTER I talked to the maid. The night we checked in there was one lonesome decaf pod, which neither of us drank. The room coffee was mediocre at best and the $2 coffeemaker did not contribute to the quality of the brew. Coffee was available in the lobby for a dollar a cup in some machine that had several types of drinks in it. (really???) Breakfast was an overpriced pay as you go deal with absolutely no complementary coffee or tea in the lobby area. Apparently they don' t read (or care) about the articles that outline the amenities that make people happy. I wouldn't pick this place to return to, even though it had free parking, which it appears most hotels in this area do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Belgedoc1 ,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read many reviews on Tripadvisor before making a reservation here, but I decided to go for it with low expectations. I recommend taking this approach. The hotel is located very close to the GWB which makes it an inexpensive place to stay close to NYC. It is located directly on Route 4 which is either good or bad depending on your perspective. They do have a shuttle that will get you across the bridge into the city where you can transit to NYC public transport. I did not use this service, but it sounded convenient.

There are no restaurants within walking distance so be prepared to drive the maddening roads in the area if you want to go out. The hotel restaurant is exactly what you would expect to get from a hotel restaurant. Its ok, but I would suggest going out unless you are exhausted. On the positive front, the staff at the bar were friendly and attentive.

It appears Holiday Inn made an attempt to update the rooms recently. The bed was comfortable and the furniture appeared new. Everything appeared relatively clean. The air conditioner was outstanding as it kept the room very cold and the noise it generated drowned out the noise in the hall. The hallways smelled of cigarette smoke or pizza depending on who or what just passed through. The elevators also seemed quite slow. I was happy to be on a lower floor to bypass the need for them.

Will I go back? Probably so. The location is convenient for the location where I work. The room itself was ok. The room rate was ok. Parking was free. I will avoid the restaurant, have a drink at the bar, and run up the stairs to my room to miss the elevators and as much of the hallway as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear tpmfgman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed just one night at this hotel, as all other area hotels were booked. Perhaps now I understand a bit more as to why this place had vacancies.
I arrived late, perhaps after 9pm, and found the staff at the front desk unhappy, unhelpful, and lacking any kind of sense of humor or sense of customer-service-orientation. Not a great start. I asked for a room far away from the elevators and ice/vending, which is about the only piece of this reservation that was satisfactory.
The place has been renovated sometime within the past 5 years, I'm guessing, but in the elevator and hallways, there lingers a sense that this property, probably dating to the mid 60's, will never be a Crowne Plaza. It lacked polish, panache, and character completely.
My room faced out on the pool area, away from NJ Rt. 4, which parallels I-95. So it was, in fact, quiet, just as I'd requested. The room was clean and I didn't hear anything from the neighboring rooms, despite the hotel's being quite booked. However, I heard several times during the long night, echoes of Spanish speaking (more like yelling) from out in the hallway.
The ice machine on my floor was broken, so I had to take the stairs to the floor above or below. The elevator was constantly in use, even late at night. The entire 12 hrs. I was at this hotel the laundry facility on my floor was in use. There were also empty pizza boxes, food trays, and all manner of 'discarded supplies' strewn about in the hallways. I felt as if I were in a dorm room.
The price for all of this 'quality' was probably the hotel's most singular strong point. It was relatively inexpensive, and priced accordingly, as I believe it. I didn't bother checking out at the front desk, as there was a long line waiting to do so upon my next day departure.
All I can say is if you expect anything short of a bed, I'd look elsewhere. Clean enough, cheap enough, but other than that, as Miss Davis was known to utter on multiple occasions "What a dump!"
Also, I chose this hotel because it had a decent-sized pool. Only problem was it wasn't open for morning lap swimming, which would've been tough, since there were not one, but two ropes across it disallowing anyone from doing anything other than bobbing around!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the rear of the hotel, toward the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear jimmy_d_olson,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Fort Lee you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Holiday Inn Fort Lee Hotel
Fort Lee Holiday Inn
Address: 2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fort Lee 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the George Washington Bridge, your Gateway to New York City!. Located in Fort Lee, New Jersey, our hotel is positioned for easy access into New York City, just minutes from Manhattan. Situated between La Guardia Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport, this Holiday Inn is convenient to New York shopping, a day at Yankee Stadium or relax at our Outdoor Pool (Memorial Day to Labor Day).Enjoy a relaxing stay at the New York area's best-kept secret!Local corporations include Unilever, LG, Samsung, CitiGroup and AGFA. Also, we are right in the center of colleges such as FDU, Manhattan College, Columbia University and Fordham University. Family and friends stay at the Holiday Inn of Fort Lee when visiting relatives at NY Columbia Presbyterian Hospital, Holy Name Hospital, Englewood Hospital, Hackensack Medical Center or Palisade General Hospital. So, stay where everyone in the know stays...the Holiday Inn GWB-Fort Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.