We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to be durring a storm” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Fort Lee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Fort Lee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place to be durring a storm”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I wanted to spend hurricane sandy with my fiancé so we booked 3 nights at this hotel first day was good even though the food court was corn flakes and oatmeal . As soon as the storm kick in we lost power hotel management didn't help we were in the dark for three days until we checked out .the food supply's that we brought for the storm went bad . When we steped out to look for food we got locked out of our room for fifteen minutes because the doors are electric . There was no hot water and management always left before three pm. some crazy man pulled the fire alarm which are very loud . When the fire alarm sounded we jumped out of bed ran outside and waited 30 mins for it to be turned off . The hotel owner arrived but didn't do much there was a flood in two of the hotel rooms and management did nothing for those tenants the lobby looked like a mini pool .on the day we were all supossed to check out management was bright and early knocking on all of our doors at 9 am check out time is 11am . When we left all was still dark and only thing management told us was thank you . Worst hotel stay ever will never go there again

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We apologize for the lack of service that was provided during Hurricane Sandy, due to the severity of the storm, however, the entire Fort Lee area was without electricity. We have taken steps to lessen the impact of such natural disasters for the future. We would like to thank those who assisted with relief efforts during that time period. Thank you for your feedback Aracelis A.

Duane H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
39
27
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms were clean, but the hallways had an odd smell that drifted into the rooms a bit. It was like stale air mixed in with a touch of smoke. The hair dryer in our room broke and while we had the staff come and look at it, they never came back with a replacement. The buttons on the phone that was supposed to call guest services directly did not work as well.

Overall, a decent stay. We just needed a place to crash with our two children for the night. The crib they gave us was comfortable and clean. We wouldn't have picked this place if it weren't so close to the banquet we needed to attend.

The breakfast seemed a bit expensive for what it was for a family of four, so we opted out.

Room Tip: This hotel is located right off a major road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Ginaray99va,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased that you found our location satisfactory enough for your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with the smell in the hallways and the hair dryer being nonfunctional in your room. We will address these matters and I wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant staff, clean rooms, fair food. Location good for quick in and out of NY. Right by GW bridve and yankee stadium. Small staff handles everything well and knows you quickly. I keep writing yo make 200 characters... Hotel less annoying than tripadvisor, LOL

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean,,and comfortable....was visiting the bronx zoo, stayed at holiday inn in fort lee,, very relaxing,, very friendly staff, front desk was great.. Couple of things that didnt like was that the same person was the hostess,,,waitress,,,and bartender.. Need a few more staff members on such busy night with the yankee game bein played,, food was excellent!
The only othr problem was the wifi was terrible,, connection wasnt there very disturbing...minor issues..
Clen,,,clean,,,clean,,
(thought i wanted to mention those 2things cause this site has been very helpful to me and is honest!
Hey i picked the fort lee holiday inn from this site...
Thank you

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place is having major renovation inside and out. Noisy construction work, pounding and tile saws going non stop. Rooms old and dirty, quality control is not at this hotel. Check out the pictures of the room we stayed in. Front desk staff was not friendly at all. No free breakfast. It cost me $13.00 for coffee and a buffet style breakfast. Fruit flies were covering the sliced watermelon, YUK!! Location is too far to Manhatten. First you have to take a bus/shuttle across the GW bridge ($4.00 per person) then jump on the subway. The last bus back over the GW is at 11pm. A cab ride from Yankee Stadium back to the hotel will cost you $60.00 to $75.00 bucks.
Better to stay in the city. No bargain in Fort Lee. Stayed in plenty of Holiday Inn Express's across US, this is not a good representation of one. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fort Lee, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear uop2008,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry your stay was negatively affected by construction works at our hotel. The construction has a targeted completion date of October 1, 2012. I have taken note of your comments regarding breakfast, this will certainly be looked into. While we understand that we fell short of your expectations, we hope that you would give us a chance to welcome you back to our newly renovated hotel.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Holiiday Inn Fort Lee is in East 4, so if you are going from JFK, the drivers take time to figure it out. So you could tell them to go to West 4. The good part is that they have a Microwave in the room and free internet which is good since there is small Express, where you get microwave dishes. There is shuttle bus which takes to the subway station 178 or you could take the public bus. The taxi though will charge you for the toll (depending on the time). From 42nd street back to hotel takes approximately US$ 45 incl. tip. Overall its a good out of station Hotel. If you are looking for a supermarket, they have across the road called HMart.. but make sure you get a call taxi...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Room was more than adequate and clean. They even give you two types of pillows - soft and firm. Breakfast wasn't included and was a bit pricy, the freshly made pancakes weren't as good as those in other places we've eaten, and the yogurt/granola was rather small. So the overall rating, which would otherwise be Very Good, gets downgraded because of the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fort Lee

Address: 2339 Route 4 East, Fort Lee, NJ 07024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fort Lee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fort Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn at the George Washington Bridge, your Gateway to New York City!. Located in Fort Lee, New Jersey, our hotel is positioned for easy access into New York City, just minutes from Manhattan. Situated between La Guardia Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport, this Holiday Inn is convenient to New York shopping, a day at Yankee Stadium or relax at our Outdoor Pool (Memorial Day to Labor Day).Enjoy a relaxing stay at the New York area's best-kept secret!Local corporations include Unilever, LG, Samsung, CitiGroup and AGFA. Also, we are right in the center of colleges such as FDU, Manhattan College, Columbia University and Fordham University. Family and friends stay at the Holiday Inn of Fort Lee when visiting relatives at NY Columbia Presbyterian Hospital, Holy Name Hospital, Englewood Hospital, Hackensack Medical Center or Palisade General Hospital. So, stay where everyone in the know stays...the Holiday Inn GWB-Fort Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Lee Hotel Fort Lee
Fort Lee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Fort Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.