We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rella's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rella's

Rella's
443 South Main Street (Rte.9), Forked River, NJ (Formerly Charlie Brown's)
609-242-0042
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 44 restaurants in Forked River
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This location was formerly Charlie Brown's. Empty for a year it is now Rella's
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rella's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you looking for a relaxed atmosphere, clean place with good service, great Italian food and a nice bar try Rella's in Forked River. We took some friends to dinner and had a wonderful time and good meal. Try their dinner specials before 6 p.m. We plan to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    9
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Dinners ran between $12-$25 including bread and salad. Their house special was a Sunday macaroni (meatball, bras color, sausage and pork spare rib) ; that with a chicken piccata diner , one coffee and splitting a cheese and tomato tower appetizer came to $40. The chicken was overlooked, but tasty. Nothing great, but OK. Atmosphere is attractive, but somewhat cold. Live entertainment in bar could be heard, but is not intrusive if you sit in the back of the restaurant. Service was friendly and we were not rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar. Great Food. Expansive Bar Menu. Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rella's is one of the best kept secrets in the area. Since they opened and upgraded from the previous owners [Charlie Brown's] they have continued to improve. Excellent appetizers, very good dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Better Second Time Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First time we visited, we were not impressed. Pretty sure it was within the first month they opened. Decided to try Rella's again, and it was pretty good.
3 of us got the grilled 8oz NY Strip Steak Sandwich($14). It was not really a sandwich, but open-faced. The fried were awesome!I The steak was cooked perfect, and had a hint of garlic butter on it.
The plain pizza($13) was really good.We ordered this as an app. I heard they were making some good pizza, and we were not disappointed. Crust was crispy, cheese was not greasy, and with just the perfect amount of sauce. Also ordered the chicken milanese panini($9). It was a true panini, very tasty and crispy. Mixed drinks were about $7 for jack and coke. A little pricey.
Service was good, but could of been better, especially with out drinks. The place was not crowded for a Fri night. Prices for food seemed fair. The happy hour by the bar seemed to be the place to be.
We definitely want to go back and try the proscuitto and arugula pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Italian-at it's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

4 of us stopped for dinner and the food was great. I ordered a house specialty 'Pork Osso Buco' and it was fabulous served with Mushroom Risotto! Soaked up all the flaverful sauce with crispy crusty Italian bread! Served with a nice house salad the meal was perfect. The other dinners were enjoyed as much as mine. Our waitress was very friendly, courteous and attentive without being a pain. Frank( owner/manager) stopped at our table to make sure we were well taken care of and his wife was also floating around the room checking on diners. We will be back as we consider Rella's to be one of the best restaurants in the Forked River/Waretown area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rella's also viewed

Forked River, Jersey Shore
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.