We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rella's

Rella's
443 South Main Street (Rte.9), Forked River, NJ (Formerly Charlie Brown's)
609-242-0042
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 44 restaurants in Forked River
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: This location was formerly Charlie Brown's. Empty for a year it is now Rella's
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We didn't know what to expect of this newer area restaurant when we stopped for an early dinner after shopping. We were pleasantly surprised with the good food and service at Rella's in Forked River. My husband had fish and I had steak, both were excellently prepared and the sides of fresh sautéed mixed veggies and garlic mashed potatoes were delicious. Also, they serve Italian bread to die for--crispy and light. Their menu is extensive with many Italian selections which we'll try next time. My only negative and the house salad--too much iceberg, not enough baby greens, but dressings were good. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    9
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sloatsburg, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Service / Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our servers pleasant personality added to the freshness, variety and delicious food choices we all enjoyed. Clean surroundings and a varied menu with a pleasing clientele. Upbeat and fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant, my children's choice, suggested by someone of their friends. It was Mother's day, had reservations for 6pm. We were seated 5:45, waitress took our order, my son's meal came out with appetizer round. 7 pm still no dinner, dressing was wrong on my salad, we got our food at 7:15, the table next to us was so loud we couldn't hear our self talk.. Manager apologized took a little off the bill. Food was horrible, really how long does it take to cook pasta? They have nerve calling this Italian, next time I will go too a pizza place, at least they are fast and the pasta taste cooked, not raw...Never again Walking out a party of 6 came, they turned them away, probably because they would be to midnite before getting served, or no food left...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the Best restaurants in Forked River...if not the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here since they have opened and have received consistent good food and service. And to make the experience even better you don't have the usual rif raf that you see in the other restaurants in the area. I hope Rellas stays around a long time as it is my top choice in the area...be it drinks, food, entertainment or all of the above! The management apparently knows how to run a business!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Flavorful food, fun bar atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was hesitant to eat at Rellas however friends and I planned to go one Sat. night to hear our favorite band Katfish Lucy play. We had eaten in the Rellas in Brielle and always enjoyed the food so we grabbed a table in the bar and ordered a pizza, a salad that had blackened scallops and eggplant rollentini ALL was tasty
hot, fresh and well prepared! Service was also fast and friendly, as the night went on and the crowd grew service for drinks did slow down but bartenders were hustling and doing their best to keep up. Overall we enjoyed the night(great DJ played while band was on breaks!) many people of all ages were dancing and having a blast!! Worth checking out :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rella's also viewed

Forked River, Jersey Shore
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rella's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.