We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Pizza & Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mario's Pizza & Italian Restaurant
422 South Main Street, Forked River, NJ 08731
(609) 693-4349 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Forked River
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Forked River, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Mario's has the best pizza. The staff is great. We have tried just about every pizzeria in our area and always come back to Mario's as it is the best. They have excellent prices on their meals as well.
I do have to say that about 2 weeks ago several of us went for dinner and everyone's food was good except for 1 person who had their shrimp scampi and they did not like it at all. His wife tried it and she didn't care for it either. I do not like shrimp so I did not taste it and therefore cannot attest to this, but just wanted to throw this out there. Also, that night service was very slow. But this will not stop us from going back without hesitating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Only place To Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Mario's is simply the best! It doesn't matter if you want pizza, subs, or a meal because everything there is great. Mario,s has it all; great food, great prices, and friendly atmosphere. The menu has something for everyone and there are always daily specials.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our "Go-To" Pizza place everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fabulous dinners, awesome staff. Great for delivery or eat in. Yummy subs and pizza bread. We have been ordering their Tuesday special every week for almost 5 years. Their calamari is absolutely perfect. You can't beat Mario's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy the old "Marios" is back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I had been eating at Mario's for almost 20 years. Last summer, (2012) there must have been either new management, or a new staff, or some problem which resulted in waiting over an hour for food, orders taken incorrectly, and a waitstaff that left much to be desired. Also, the food, which was always outstanding previously, was just not good. After going three times, and waiting over an hour, three times, we vowed never to go back. Well, we missed it so much, that after about 6 months, we decided to give it one last try. We were pleasantly surprised that the staff is now well-trained, the food is back to being 'perfection,' and we waited only about 14 minutes for our meals. We have gone twice now, and it is back to it's usual consistently good food and service. We are so happy the old Mario's is back. Definitely the best Italian food in Ocean county!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality family style italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is great italian food at prices you can afford to bring the whole family. Don't forget desert rhey are the trip alone.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Pizza & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Forked River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Mario's Pizza & Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Pizza & Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.