We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 King George Post Road, Fords, NJ 08863 (Formerly Quality Inn at Raritan Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fords
Grandview, Missouri, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I know that there are worse places, but I felt extremely out of place there. Ridiculous and rude security guards (in turbans), no fridge or microwave in room, not enough towels and wash cloths, an atmosphere mostly attuned to those from India. They had an extra charge for breakfast, and it is way too expensive for what is offered. It felt strange to me, like I entered the Twilight Zone and suddenly found myself in a foreign country. Maybe this property has been offered up to Hindu gods as a sacrifice or something. Or maybe it is really Hotel California...brrrrrrrr--Mufasa!!

Room Tip: Not sure. My room was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 via mobile

Don't believe the fake reviews (has anyone else noticed that the writing style is the same in all of them?). This place is a disgusting dump. If you need to stay in this area, there are a few nice hotels in Raritan Center. No one in their right mind would stay at this hotel. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

i stayed in palace hotel look very nice and clean rooms no complain
close to n y city and wonderful restaurant if you like indian food real indian taste

relaxing zacuzi friendly people
good luck to new management thanks we really need .it

Room Tip: get room with zacuzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice.
The hotel does not have great curb appeal from the parking area and the outside is outdated in areas. The rooms were very nice spacious rooms. Relatively updated. The front desk staff was average. Certainly not great but they did attempt to address any concerns.
The first time we stayed here we did have to ask to be moved to a different room. The room appeared to have not been vacuumed at all and food crumbs were scattered about. The room looked as if it was barely cleaned. The second room we were placed in was much better and cleaner. However the person from maintenance I would assume it was that brought us up the key to the second room was extremely rude and would not even speak. The front desk handled the issue okay but certainly not great.

The last night we were there we slept very little from excessively loud music and stomping on the floor in the room above us. Doors were slammed throughout the night that night. The issue was reported to the front desk who was very nice about the issue but really did not handle it well for the excessive noise continued all night.

This hotel is located in a great area and a short drive to Newark Penn Station were you can catch a quick PATH Train to New York for $3.

Booked on Expedia and got an amazing deal. Just over 40$ a night after taxes. The hotel was very exceptional for that price and one of the best hotels I have stayed at before for under $75.

Room Tip: Get a room on top floor if you do not want woke up from noise throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel itself was okay. The rooms were pretty comfortable but the bathroom Dorr did not close in room 231 or 327. Also our family was there for a wedding so we book around 10 rooms and we also book the meeting room. The meeting room was the problem. The meeting room had bed bugs! All of our got scared and watched where we were steeping the meeting room chairs were filled with bed bugs. So they they must be all around the hotel to be careful!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

When my wife and I arrived , the place looked like an abandoned building. The parking and entrance is in the back of building and was just plain scary. When I parked, lining the length of build, at parking lot level, are abandoned dilapidated hotel rooms with broken windows and doors. The lobby is that of a cheap motel and the rooms just give the feel of "Dirty". I booked a King room and they tried to make me stay in a room with two small beds.While I was talking to front desk person regarding the incorrect room, she ran out of the front desk area because there was a bug flying around and upon returning said there are no King rooms available and any claims need to be taken up with booking source or manager of hotel on Monday. With all this,Of course I didn't stay ! ! ! ! Taking up claim with the site I booked with. I don't know how anyone could give this hotel a positive review.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel ! ! ! ! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked the room for 7 nights. The first day, we complained about the dirty carpet. On the 3rd day, we did not get towels and had to go downstairs and get them because they were not forthcoming.
Around the rth or 5th day we did not get any soap. Again we had to go to the front desk to get it because 'no housekeeping staff after 5PM." Terrible bed also but were told that the hotel was booked for the week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 1050 King George Post Road, Fords, NJ 08863 (Formerly Quality Inn at Raritan Center)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Raritan Hotel Fords
Best Western Fords
Fords Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.