We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs! Black sludge water, moldy mildew bathrooms, terrible staff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Park Avenue, Florham Park, NJ 07932 (Formerly Hamilton Park Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Weekend Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Florham Park
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs! Black sludge water, moldy mildew bathrooms, terrible staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

I am a very frequent traveller and have to say this hotel ranks up with one of my worst hotel experiences - from room quality, cleanliness, hotel staff, checkin/billing, food, noise, etc.. I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights this past week for a seminar at Farleigh Dickinson which is next door.

First of all, the hotel has a major water/pipe problem. Each day when I turned on my faucets, black chunks and residue came out in the yellow/brown water. The toilets were filled with the same black chunks. My coworker's room had thick black sludge come from his faucets. Disgusting! We were NEVER notified of the problem when making reservations nor when checking in. No apology. No discounts. No free bottled water. Nothing! I had to buy bottled water to brush my teeth because I refused to put my toothbrush anywhere near the water.

The hotel is going through a lot of contruction so all day (starting quite early) you'll hear extremely loud construction sounds that actually shake the walls. Beyond the construction sound, there is a large courtyard around the hotel where people tend to congregate until late at night (1 to 2 a.m.). So regardless of construction, if you have a room facing this courtyard, be prepared to hear loud talking, laughing, etc.

The rooms were not clean. The bathroom had black mildew/mold growing on the tiles and ceilings. It was very obvious when looking at the tile floor that it had not been cleaned during my entire stay.

The restaurant food is very mediocre - especially for the price. We had a bill of over $400 for just 6 people - and the only alcohol included was one $30 bottle of wine. I only ate half of my dinner because it was so tasteless.

Finally, the hotel staff is a real disappointment - including the hotel management. When I made my reservation, I informed them I was to receive a conference rate (we had written confirmation of this rate through FDU). They also stated they would send me a confirmation, which they never did. On check in, I noticed the rate was wrong, same issue for all of the other conference attendees. The manager was called to the desk and she promised she would take care of it within the next day and call us to confirm it was taken care of. Of course we did not receive any phone calls!

On our last day, we received bills under our door that STILL showed the incorrect rate for the hotel. We went to the front desk at 7:30 a.m. with the incorrect bills and the written confirmation of the rates. They first told us we were wrong - that our written rate confirmation was incorrect. After a manager arrived, she said she would look into fixing it while we were in our final morning conference session before official check out. We came back to the desk 2 hours later, and still no progress. They finally had agreed to the price but couldn't figure out how to charge us the correct price. We stood waiting at the front desk for another 30 minutes until we were to the point of missing our shuttle to the airport. They said they would take care of it and email us a final bill with the correct price. I'm still waiting for this.

Through the whole issue, we never received any apologies or sense of concern from the hotel staff including the management - which was on top of their utter disregard for the major construction problems going on in the hotel.

I would never stay in this hotel again even after the construction is completed. Stay at the Westin Governor which is only a mile or two away. It is a great hotel!

  • Liked — Proximity to university
  • Disliked — Black sludge water, hotel staff, dirty room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton175, Amy Wickenheisser, Hotel Manager at Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2008
Hamilton Park has just completed a three month long guest room renovation. The water issues that were reported in January were due to renovation and resulted in a loss of water for 30 minutes during certain periods of the renovation. All guests were notified via a letter at check-in that there may be a brief water stoppage resulting in discolored water for a few minutes upon turning the water back on.
The guest rooms and bathrooms are completely brand new with updated appointments including a Keurig coffee maker, LCD flat screen TV’s and updated bathroom fixtures.
As all of these reviews are anonymous we cannot investigate the rate issue, no one on the management team at Hamilton Park recalls this incident. We take pride in our resolution management and receive very high scores from our customers with our response to issues.
If this guest would like to come back to Hamilton Park and give us another try I welcome him/her to call me directly and set up a reservation. I am confident that Hamilton Park staff, as well as the property, will impress this guest and turn a negative review into a very positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    111
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
91
47
8
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

My daughter had a college interview, someone at the college recommended Hamilton Park Hotel. We got a discounted rate through the college (you have to ask for it, it's not listed). We enjoyed some of the friendliest hotel service we've ever experienced. The front desk gave us complimentary breakfast coupons when we checked in. We ordered room service and were pleasantly surprised at the large portions; the room service guy came back later and brought us free sodas. Everyone we interacted with was very friendly and helpful.

Another review mentioned worn tiles? Well, whatever your priorities are, I suppose. I didn't study the condition of the flooring and frankly couldn't care less. I'm all about the service, and that couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Since we had reserved hotel rooms for our wedding guests, we were entitled to a junior suite for our wedding night. While our stay was brief (in between the time the downstairs bar closed at 2 AM and our 10 AM checkout for a flight out of Newark), we were very impressed by the facility. While Hamilton Park is primarily a business hotel, it is very nicely decorated and has an elegant yet casual feel. The junior suite featured a huge sleeping area and a decent-sized bathroom that featured nice furnishings. The king bed was especially comfortable!

  • Liked — Location and appearance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

I'm ranking the Hamilton Park above average even tho' yes, it does need some upgrades. The concierge service and the bellman service at this hotel is outstanding, everyone has a smile. The front desk (the majority of the time) is very patient and happy to deal with weary business travelers who don't know the area well. We arrived well after midnight and were helped promptly and efficiently to our rooms. Yes the tile needs to be replaced by the front doors and yes you gotta walk a mile to get to your room. But the room service food is far above average and the portions are way over the top. I was there for at least five different meals and every breakfast and dinner arrived piping hot, which is not the standard amongst some four and five star hotels. It is a bit noisy in the hallways. This is a hotel that seems to cater to class reunions and wedding parties. Therefore the level of drunken revelery on the weekend is a bit high. Still, it's a good hotel with a good weekend rate. The grounds surrounding the hotel are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

This hotel came recommended and I have no idea why. We arrived at 5pm (you would think the place would be busy)..and there was no one around. No one to help with our bags & when we asked the desk clerk for assitance, she said "there is a cart over there"...If I wanted to carry by own bags I would have stayed home. My husband had to stay here on business so we had no choice, but I wish we did. The restaurant was lousey, the food was old, cold and ready for mold. The bar was not any better. The rooms were ok, better than I expected but regardless I will not return. My husband has told his company and thank goodness we are going to the Hilton Short Hills next month. If the management is reading this all I can say is clean up your service, if you care -- but from what I see, I doubt it.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

Don't waste your time here. The place might look nice but that's it. Service was poor. Staff was rude. Manager was even worse that the staff. I guess that is what you should expect from an independant hotel....next time Marriott or Hilton for sure...at least they TRY to correct problems, this place could not care less! STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 175 Park Avenue, Florham Park, NJ 07932 (Formerly Hamilton Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Florham Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Florham Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florham Park hotel & conference center offering lodging, business meeting facilities, wedding venues and space for special events near Morristown, New York City and Newark Airport in New Jersey. Dine at Arrive or Vanderbilt's Bar & Lounge and take advantage of the hotel's variety of vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Park Hotel Florham Park
Hamilton Park Hotel And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Hamilton Park Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.