We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Local Restaurant and Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Restaurant

Jake's Restaurant
253 Us Highway 202/31, Flemington, NJ 08822-1717
+1 908-806-3188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 110 Restaurants in Flemington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Jake's Restaurant & Bar opened in Hunterdon county 1991. Chef William Kinslow has been bringing a sophisticated dining experience in a casual atmosphere. Jake's Restaurant and Bar offers many fine food beer and wine selections.Jake's offers two rooms, the casual bar with 8 TVs and the white-tabled clothed dining room. The same menu is served in both rooms. Jake's specializes in fresh seafood and great steak. The Jake's Steak, a 12oz. Cajun prime rib, has been a customer favorite for years. While the Lobster Mac n' Cheese is a new addition, that is becoming a crowd favorite. In addition, Jake's offer pasta dishes, salads and burgers. All food can be matched with Jake's award winning wine list. Jake's has received the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for 8 years in a row. The bar has 15 beers on tap, and over 50 different bottled beers.
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Local Restaurant and Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Every town should have one.Long standing, established family bar and restaurant. Good but not great food and with a menu that tries to compete with the diners. Staff are inviting and friendly and the entire experience us usually good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing Inspiring Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just a very average experience. The locals seem to like it but I guess that's because they all know each other and visit regularly. For me the whole experience is totally average and on weekend nights you could grow a beard while waiting for bar service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Below average food, bad service and pricey menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We'd liked going to Jake's in the past since the bar dining room is kid friendly and the food was decent. Recently, however, a lot has changed at Jake's. Last night was the last time we will give Jake's another chance. The service has gone downhill, the food is below average and the portions are skimpy. I ordered the sauteed soft shell crabs last night ($20) which consisted of one small crab, a small baked sweet potato and side of steamed spinach. For some reason, salads no longer come with their dinners so my husband ordered one and was served a little romaine, a few grape tomatoes, red onions and a few croutons for $5. My son's flounder was fishy and over-fried. The last time we were there, I had to send my seared tuna appetizer back because it was pale and old and horrible tasting. It's a shame that Jake's isnt what it used to be and I can promise we will not be returning - not even for drinks, which are also overpriced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great wine list, food and linen tablecloths - All at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We are wine fans and try to get to Jake's once or twice a moth. They are addiliated with a large local wine shop and position the restaurant to showcase the wines. They feature threee reds and three whites monthly at about $ 18 - 21/bottle. The full list is more extensive and reasonably priced.

The restaurant has a sports bar to the left and a linen tablecloth restaurant to the right. The Jake's Pizza, made with gorgonzola cheese is an excellent appetizer. They feature knife and fork burgers, chicken breasts and portobello mushrooms for people who want a "burger" without the diet problematic bun and french fries. They usually come with asparagus and spinach. When they have cassolet it's incredible. They also have raw bar offerings on the munu.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a good meal at Jakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been frequenting Jakes for years and have never been disappointed by the food, atmosphere or service - sometimes a bit crowded on weekends so plan your visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Restaurant also viewed

 
Flemington, NJ
 

Been to Jake's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.