We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Flemington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max s 31

Max s 31
334 RT. 31 North, Flemington, NJ 08822
(908) 782–5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 109 restaurants in Flemington
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Flemington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is really the only Italian place that I truly and consistently like. Pizza, appetizers, pastas, and entrees are always very, very good. They always have a decent amount of specials too which are great (buffalo calamari once - oh my God!). Their cannolis are awesome also. Yes, it's a little tight but it's a small space! Make reservations.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    5
    13
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Not Enough Tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Max's 31. Never enough tables to sit down at if you wish to dine in, and they have great food and a great menu with a wide variety of pizza, zeppoles and sandwiches. Minus one star for no room!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My favorite lunch in Flemington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love this place. I've been going to Max's for lunch for 4 years, and it's still my favorite in Flemington. They have great food, great specials, and a friendly staff. They have awesome sandwiches that you can get on their house made foccacia or a in a grilled wrap. There potato salad is so good that we always order an extra side, even when we order pizza. Monday's are pizza day, with a $6.99 large pizza special... and Monday through Friday, there are lunch express specials like chicken marsala, tilapia, and penne vodka for $5.95 or two slices and a can of soda for $3.95. And, the food is really great. Sometimes I just order a side of broccoli rabe sauteed in garlic and olive oil. The staff is always friendly, and I definitely want to try Max's for dinner! They are a BYO, and looks like they have great dinner specials!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best Italian food in Hunterdon County -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Located in the Stop & Shop Center on Rt 31, but don't be fooled by the outside appearance of just another "pizza joint". While the pizza is excellent and they do a bustling take-out business, there is also a very nice, tastefully decorated, fine dining room in the back. Don't miss it as you won't be dissapointed.

This relatively small Italian Bistro is one of the best managed operations I have seen. The owner is hands on - graciously seating the guests while keeping an eye on the kitchen. This is not just a spaghetti house, as the menu contains not only the standard Italian fare but a nice choice of specials. Everything is made on premises, including the mouth watering bread and rolls plus the excellent garlic knots.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max s 31 also viewed

 

Been to Max s 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max s 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.