We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not since Italy have we eaten Italian food so good!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brunello Trattoria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brunello Trattoria
300 Old Croton RD, Flemington, NJ 08822
908-284-4964
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brunello Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 109 restaurants in Flemington
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mailing address is Flemington but located on outskirts - Croton I think
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not since Italy have we eaten Italian food so good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just ate here this evening for the first time. We took a chance based on all the great reviews from all others on this site. I cannot tell you how absolutely wonderful it was. The place is not at all where you'd expect, let alone what you'd expect. It's small, and well kept. The staff is extraordinarily attentive, but NOT overbearing. They are professionals. The menu has classic Italian standards as well as other more creative options. They offer specials in both appetizers and dinners. I happened to order the nights homemade pasta- pappardelle al busco- thick ribbon cut pasta with HUGE portobello mushrooms and a brown cream sauce. Have never had anything like it. AMAZING! My husband had the gnocchi bolognese which was also outstanding. We have not ever had a bolognese that comes close to the types we've had in Italy over 8 years, unti, of course now.

All the appetizers were perfect- pan fried mozzerella, shrimp cocktail and fried calamari were wonderful. Desserts were lovely, chocolate mousse cake and a lovely homemade tiramisu.

There is not a children's menu available, and the restaurant definitely gives off an adult vibe. It has actual linens and water glasses, etc. However, they were more than accomodating. Our waiter even told us that if we needed chicken fingers or fries for the kids, they would be more than happy to do that for us. They even allowed us to specifically request kinds of pasta and preparation for our 6 and 3 year olds.

It's cozy. It's calm and quiet. It's got an amazing staff and out of this world food. I have a feeling this will become a regular date night for me and my husband!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    11
    3
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a Trattoria Should Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Brunello is located in the middle of nowhere opposite a feed store on the outskirts of Flemington. The location has consistently hosted Italian restaurants with food of exceptional quality. We didn't realize it was operational again - Then we discovered Brunello Trattoria has been there for two years!

Wine list starts at $ 25/bottle and you get a decent bottle! Excellent calamari (about $9), Several very good entrrees in the $ 15.00 range. Chicken Piedemont and Chicken Milanese were quite good. Shared Tartufo for dessert ($6).

Incredibly attentive service. You think about water and the glass is refilled. Enough time to linger over courses but we didn't feel like we were waiting for food to arrive. Glad we found the place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Italian Restaurant on the Outskirts of Flemington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Dined with my husband and daughter for her 26th birthday Sunday night and had an appetizer -Portobello mushrooms (that we split) three delicious meals-chicken, Scottish salmon, and pasta, and chocolate mousse cake (that we split) for dessert. The attention to detail, and the service were incredible.
Please check out their luncheon specials for $10. It is a feast!! My husband goes there for lunch, mentioned the place at work, and now has his fellow co-workers going there also. It is a meal that you cannot beat for $10.
The dining area is newly renovated, and the bar is a nice place to stop for a drink after work.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
1 review
“Brunello Trattoria - Superb Dining with Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We visited Brunello Trattoria with friends Saturday 01/21/12. The food and service were excellent. Chicken Parmigiana with Angel Hair Pasta was exceptional. Portabella Mushrooms for appetizer were the best we ever had. My wife had the Chilean Sea Bass, one of the day's specials...fantastic! A cozy and friendly atmosphere. Despite a day of snow/bad weather the restaurant was bustling. The bar area is also very inviting.
Don't pass up the opportunity to dine here. We have visited there several times, never disappointed. I work close by, and will be trying their luncheon specials.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“An old location with a very good new restaurant that is worth another look.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

An old location with a very good new restaurant that is worth another look. There have been restaurants at the location outside Flemington on Old Croton Road for more than 35 years. This latest iteration is the best. Excellent, fresh, ingredients, are lovingly prepared. A risotto del giorno with shrimp and scallops was a scrumptious dinner entrée. Their gnocchi Bolognese is the best. A $9.95 luncheon special, chicken picata with white wine and lemon was delicious and a great value. Service can be uneven. If busy, service can be slow. If you have the time, the food is well worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunello Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Brunello Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunello Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.