We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Mexican in a strip mall?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fresco
240 US Route 206, Flanders, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Flanders
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lebanon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gourmet Mexican in a strip mall?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

It doesn't look like much from the outside but this family affair restaurant serves some of the best authentic Mexican food you will find. A hidden gem in a strip mall.. Only in New Jersey, anyway we loved it. Try the Guacamle it's to die for

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Excellent selections on the menu, many of which one does not see in most Mexican restaurants. Small seating area -- take-out is big. But service is excellent, and you get to know the waitresses - always a plus.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I LOVE Mexican food, but I can't bring myself to go back to Fresco.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've been there 3 times now, each time saying to myself "well, it was pretty bad the last time, but maybe they had an off day. It's so close to where I live so I really want to give it a fair chance." I can't remember what I ate the 1st two times, but it was bland and, well, unmemorable. The last time I was there, about 2 weeks ago, I ordered the crispy chicken tacos. You just can't imagine my horror when she brought out a place of STORE-BOUGHT taco shells, filled with chicken. On the side, there were chopped onions, cilantro and cheese for me to put on my tacos. So on top of being stuck with store-bought taco shells (really BAD QUALITY STORE-BOUGHT taco shells), I'm required to assemble the tacos myself?! Fortuntely, I had ordered a half-order of guacamole as a back up. Let's face it, it'd be really tough to screw up guacamole. But I remembered that it was a too chunky for my taste on my previous visits, so I asked the waitress if they could mash it a little more. When it arrived, the chunks were as large as ever, so the waitress clearly didn't care what I preferred. After assembling my tacos into the STORE-BOUGHT taco shells, I mashed the guacamole myself. One true test of a good Mexican restaurant is the salsas they serve. They've got the basic pico de gallo down (hard to screw that up), but the other 2 salsas they serve ("medium" and "hot") have very little flavor and are not really medium or hot. That's my last time at Fresco. I'm so embarrassed for them. No wonder the place is always empty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

A great place for good authentic Mexican food! The owners are so nice and so is their staff. Feel chips and sauces.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

The food is great, pleasant and friendly staff. Homemade tortillas make it even better. The steak is seasoned just right. We always order the queso as an appetizer, we can't get enough! They also make a homemade tea that is very good and their homemade beans are terrific! We've eaten in and taken out and the food is still to brag about.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco also viewed

 

Been to Fresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.