We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect fancy - But this is a good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Tamarac, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't expect fancy - But this is a good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interior corridors make it more secure than almost every other Comfort Inn we've experienced. The room was clean, with comfortable bedding. Shower pressure was a little weak. Breakfast had all the regular items, eggs, waffles, sausage, hash browns, cereal, all the other stuff. Staff was courteous. The desk clerk told me they recently completed the renovation. We stayed on points and at 16,000 it was pricier than most but worth it, especially considering the cost in that area (proximity to New York) is going to be higher than more remote locations.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Greg R,

I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests.

The quality and importance of service and the breakfast provided to every guest is critical to comfort inn's value and we hope to improve on it very step of the way. Peaceful ambience and cleanliness is considered very important to all of our guests.

Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
14
15
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stayed here on a bus tour this past weekend for 2 nights and we had an amazing room. This was BY FAR the nicest Comfort Inn I have ever stayed in ~ it was way more like a Sheraton. Very luxurious. We had super comfortable beds, a huge TV, fridge, microwave.... everything. We also got delicious room service from the Italian restaurant on the property with zero delivery charge at a very affordable price. Me and my 3 teens were extremely happy with this hotel. It was also spotless.

Room Tip: I would ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello kimmmmmy,


I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests. The newly owned and operated restaurant is liked by most of our guests and is well-known in the metropolitan areas of Newark and New York City. Their food and service is above average and just as good as the service of the Comfort Inn, Fairfield, NJ.

Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, In
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It is obvious that this was once a very nice place to stay, but it has become rundown and needed repairs and updates are not being made. They are cutting too many corners. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It's obvious that this was once a nice place to stay, but it has become rundown. Needed repairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello M E,

Hello I want to apologize very much for all the trouble you had to go through during your stay. It is disappointing for me to know that my hotel is not exceeding your expectations. I must say that I apologize very much.

Based on your explanation, I have understood that the overall appearance of the hotel did not meet your necessary requirements of an average choice hotel. Therefore, I must beg the question of which factors of the hotel did not please you because the managers and the front line team are performing up to expectations with ever brand requirement thus far? You have been very unclear about these factors. Along with your response , I want to say that the hotel has also achieved a score of 92% upon inspection in the year of 2014 by Choice Hotels International.

I must thank you though for taking your time to write a review for us where we are able to better understand our guests and serve them to their expectations. Please excuse us this time because we are doing our best to improve our service and room quality for you everyday. We hope to see you again soon at Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Found everything to my liking at this hotel. Room was clean and quiet with plenty of electrical outlets. The shower was strong and hot. I stayed during a very hot & humid day, but the AC kept up very well. And the fan was constant speed, so the white noise level was constant. Room coffee was OK. Internet connection was OK. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. Nobody broke into my car.

What more could I ask for? I will be happy to return.

Room Tip: Front of hotel faces Route 46, which seemed quiet enough. But the back of the hotel is much more qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello PAMan804,

I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests.

The quality and importance of service provided to every guest is critical to comfort inn's value and we hope to improve on it very step of the way. Peaceful ambience and cleanliness is considered very important to all of our guests.

Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of Comfort Inns around the country. This one is ok for it's age and a decent value. The rooms are clean and everything worked. The front desk staff were pleasant. Breakfast was standard fare for az Comfort Inn.

What this hotel does have is a new restaurant tenant called Michael Angelo's that recently opened. A small quaint Italian eatery and brick oven pizza. The food was fantastic - everything made fresh to order with homemade pasta. A really surprising find and definitely worth stopping in for dinner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Don M,

I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests.

The restaurant has been well known in the city of F airfield for many years and have never failed to please their guests. I will be sure to convey kind regards to the restaurant owner for you.

Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I rolled into Fairfield late evening and had to roll out quite early the next morning, so I cannot speak to any of the amenities. However, checking in was a relatively painless process, and the small lobby has several computers from which you can access the Internet and, if need be, check into your flights and print your boarding passes.

The elevator to the 2nd floor was slow but effective.

Complimentary breakfast was part of the deal (it runs from 6 - 10:30), but like I said, I didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it as I had to leave early.

Some of the reviews on this property say it smelled smoky. My room did not. It smelled like mild chlorine, sort of like what you might smell near a swimming pool. However, the odor was NOT offensive. In fact, the room smelled "cleaned." Not a hint of smokiness anywhere. Interestingly, a sign on the desk in room said a guess would be charged a $250.00 cleaning fee if the guest smoked in the room. WHEW!

The bed was EXTREMELY comfy -- no complaints at all. And even though I could tell I had neightbors by the sound of the TV coming from their room as I stood outside my door, I heard NOTHING once I was in the room. It was quiet!! Great insulation!

I did note that the phone ringer was relatively soft, so if you are relying on a wake-up call, make sure you turn the ringer up.

Since I can't speak to anything other than my check-in process and the quality / cleanliness of the room, I'm going w/ 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello writer 42,

, I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests.

Our hotel, comfort inn of fairfield focuses on the cleanliness and the operating factors for most minor of details in the guest rooms. The dedication and hard work put into the service of all guest rooms are standardized and comparatively superior to the other hotels within the area.

Majority of the appreciation is given to my front desk and housekeeping staff who work with sincerity and faith to deliver the best service and present the finished product of a guest room to you upon check in time. My entire staff will be rewarded appropriately for the satisfaction you received upon the use of the room.

Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Fl.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The comfort is an average choice hotel but for the price in this location its worth it. Free breakfast and clean room. Hotel is secure and you are just off the highway, so location is good. You do need a car to go out and eat your meals, but close by. No problem except my credit card was compromised after using it here. Their system may not be secure. So watch your charges.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing highway to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortNJGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Buc40,

I would like to thank you very much for the descriptive yet true and kind words you have written about our hotel. We do our best everyday to give the most comfort, luxury as you mentioned, and satisfaction to all our guests. Once again thank you and hope to see you soon on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fairfield
Comfort Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.