We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Smelly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As soon as we walked off the elevator you notice the carpets all along the hallway look as though they have not been vaccumed in months. The facet in the tub was leaking, had to keep the bathroom door closed as the noise from it became quite annoying. The screen to the window was torn. The staff at the front desk when we came back in the evening was not friendly and when we asked him what time the restaurant was open til (which was attatched to the hotel and advertised with the hotel online) he said I have no idea it is not part of the hotel, pointed to the door and said you have to ask them.. Don't most hotels have knowledge of the the area for you? Especially something that is attatched to the hotel or offer to find out for you?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
15
16
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is another frequent stay for me. It's location works for me, although it's not really close to much. Down the street a few miles is the mall that has restaurants near it. Rooms have always been clean and comfortable, but not extravagant. I've never tried the on-site restaurant.

Overall: Clean, comfortable, good location (for me, maybe not others), and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First impressions were mixed - outside of hotel was well kept and attractive, but hotel is located directly next to "Adult Emporium", an adult entertainment store, which makes it seem like a shadier part of town. The lobby is newly renovated and clean, however the rest of the hotel seemed to have missed out on the renovations. The hallway on the third floor had no air conditioning, smelled musty, and had chipped paint and cracked ceiling tiles. Our room appeared clean, but again was in need of renovations. Upon entering the room, the air conditioning had not been turned on, so the room had the same temperature and smell as the hallway. There was an electrical outlet cover that was cracked, peeling paint on the ceiling, and a broken door hinge (see pictures). The beds were clean, but the carpet seemed old and dingy. One bright spot was the complimentary breakfast -- a nice variety of hot and cold items. I wouldn't stay here again unless this property received much needed renovations and, even then, would look for a hotel in a better part of town with other amenities nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Okay hotel for age. Beds where a little stiff. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean, but could use carpet clean and newer bed spreads. Location was good, would've been better if not in New Jersey. I'm a Southern!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Cigarette burns & stains all over the bedspread. Microwave didn't work...when I tried to check the power cord, everything including the TV & cable box (yes, it's separate) stopped working. Apparently they'd plugged every single cord (TV, cable, fridge, microwave) into a single power outlet hole, which didn't have a snug connection & was hidden behind a VERY heavy piece of furniture. I have stayed at many Comfort Inns, & this isn't one of the better ones despite it's price (doubtless due to proximity to NYC). Desk employee very friendly though. Hotel is right next to an adult establishment too, as far as other negatives. Overall, it's OK, not great for $100.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Chose this hotel because I had stayed at Comfort Inn and Suites and had very good experiences.
The room felt dirty. The bathtub had a dirt/grime ring in it. I was very disapointed with this Hotel. I would not recomend this Hotel to anyone or stay at it again.
The Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Fl.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed due to location to Clifton,N.J. and New York City. Average rooms,no flat screen tv,but nice beds. Newer mattress and no bugs. Carpet in room was dirty-see pic of wife's socks. We saw room being cleaned down the hall and they only ran vac about 20 seconds over carpet path in room.
Free breakfast was okay and well stocked, usual waffles,pre cooked eggs and sauage,yogurt,bagels,bread and usual items.
Highway location next to an adult store,which you don't really see until you drive past it.No sign of people hanging around. Always someone at desk,so secure. Price okay,since this area is pricey for rooms. Just check your feet when you check in and get a room with clean floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairfield
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fairfield Executive Inn
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Fairfield
2.9 mi away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Wayne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fairfield
Comfort Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.