We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, average for age.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Fairfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, average for age.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Okay hotel for age. Beds where a little stiff. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean, but could use carpet clean and newer bed spreads. Location was good, would've been better if not in New Jersey. I'm a Southern!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
14
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Cigarette burns & stains all over the bedspread. Microwave didn't work...when I tried to check the power cord, everything including the TV & cable box (yes, it's separate) stopped working. Apparently they'd plugged every single cord (TV, cable, fridge, microwave) into a single power outlet hole, which didn't have a snug connection & was hidden behind a VERY heavy piece of furniture. I have stayed at many Comfort Inns, & this isn't one of the better ones despite it's price (doubtless due to proximity to NYC). Desk employee very friendly though. Hotel is right next to an adult establishment too, as far as other negatives. Overall, it's OK, not great for $100.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel because I had stayed at Comfort Inn and Suites and had very good experiences.
The room felt dirty. The bathtub had a dirt/grime ring in it. I was very disapointed with this Hotel. I would not recomend this Hotel to anyone or stay at it again.
The Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Fl.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed due to location to Clifton,N.J. and New York City. Average rooms,no flat screen tv,but nice beds. Newer mattress and no bugs. Carpet in room was dirty-see pic of wife's socks. We saw room being cleaned down the hall and they only ran vac about 20 seconds over carpet path in room.
Free breakfast was okay and well stocked, usual waffles,pre cooked eggs and sauage,yogurt,bagels,bread and usual items.
Highway location next to an adult store,which you don't really see until you drive past it.No sign of people hanging around. Always someone at desk,so secure. Price okay,since this area is pricey for rooms. Just check your feet when you check in and get a room with clean floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Came in early evening via GPS which took us in the wrong direction. Had to call hotel for directions. Spoke to man with heavy accent, difficult to understand. Finally got to the hotel to find it quite a dated property. Most of furnishing felt old; carpeting pretty shoddy. Bedspread was dirty. But the bed and pillows were comfortable. Never felt like I could take off my shoes in the room because it felt dirty but may in fact have been very clean. It's quite dated I think and needs updating.
I will give it good marks for the breakfast which was a varied menu and included in the price. It was half the charge of the Courtyard Marriott in Lincroft where I stayed recently which included no breakfast and to pay for what they served was insulting.
Only stayed one night. It was enough. Did not feel this was a property I'd ever choose again. Oh, it's also next door to an "Adult Emporium" which gave the hotel a seedy feeling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The lap of luxury, this is not, but the hotel is convenient to many venues and was (with the notable exception of the filthy rug in a staircase near an outer door) very clean and pleasant. Every staff member we met was kind, courteous, helpful and eager to be of service. Reasonable rates, as well.

Room Tip: Even rthe rooms that faced the main road were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Seven of us spent two nights here. Clerks were helpful and accommodating, letting us check in to our rooms early to get ready for a wake. Rooms were clean & fairly spacious and had a mini refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. Room was facing the back so we didn't hear any traffic. The bed was comfortable. Our room was non-smoking but there must have been some smokers close by. The odor was stronger when the bathroom fan was on. Breakfast was fine with good coffee. Overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure there are no smoking rooms in the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 286 Route 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fairfield
Comfort Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;