We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jose Tejas

Jose Tejas
647 US Highway 46 West, Fairfield, NJ 07004
973-808-8201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Fairfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bloomington, il
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Not a big fan of Mexican food, but this was good. Plenty of tasty chips and salsa. Margaritas were very good. Luckily they have Cajun food. The étouffée was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    51
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't know why I never wrote a review for Jose Tejas before! My husband and I have been regulars here for years and love the food...and the sangria is awesome! The place is so big, we've never ever had to wait for a table. We've had almost everything on the menu. Portions are huge. In fact, we've started splitting our meal in order to keep ourselves from overeating, and even with that, we sometimes still take some home. The fajitas are great, the Caesar salad with salmon is one of our favorites, all the chicken and fish dishes are delish! We also love their grilled veggies. And of course, the tortillas and salsa are addictive. The service has always been very good and friendly. It's also a great place to bring kids. They always have balloons and cater to the little ones. It's a very casual and fun place.

The one thing I've never been able to figure out is the pricing. It's very inexpensive, which is very nice, but the prices are such strange amounts, like $7.48 or $8.82...odd amounts...maybe to be funny? Or just to catch your attention..? It always makes me laugh.

Also, I found out that Jose Tejas is related to Border Cafe. Very surprised! It's waaaaay better than Border. We ate there once and would never go back. Mediocre food and service. Go to Jose instead!!

By the way, there are two sets of reviews for this restaurant. The other one has the name spelled with lower case (jose tejas). They are both for the same restaurant, so I put my review in both places, after I discovered this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I don't know why I never wrote a review for Jose Tejas before! My husband and I have been regulars here for years and love the food...and the sangria is awesome! The place is so big, we've never ever had to wait for a table. We've had almost everything on the menu. Portions are huge. In fact, we've started splitting our meal in order to keep ourselves from overeating, and even with that, we sometimes still take some home. The fajitas are great, the Caesar salad with salmon is one of our favorites, all the chicken and fish dishes are delish! We also love their grilled veggies. And of course, the tortillas and salsa are addictive. The service has always been very good and friendly. It's also a great place to bring kids. They always have balloons and cater to the little ones. It's a very casual and fun place.

The one thing I've never been able to figure out is the pricing. It's very inexpensive, which is very nice, but the prices are such strange amounts, like $7.48 or $8.82...odd amounts...maybe to be funny? Or just to catch your attention..? It always makes me laugh.

Also, I found out that Jose Tejas is related to Border Cafe. Very surprised! It's waaaaay better than Border. We ate there once and would never go back. Mediocre food and service. Go to Jose instead!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, fast service, good prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a semi regular at Jose Tejas and am never disappointed when I go. Their chips and salsa are simply the best I have ever tasted. The chips come out hot, and the salsa is freshly made with chunks of tomato. Yum!!! I will admit that I rarely order an appetizer, because these chips are simply THAT good. Occasionally, I'll get an order of guacamole for the chips . . .

The place is not a quiet, romantic get-away. It can be loud, with families and country music playing continuously. It hustles and bustles. You are in quickly and service is fast.

I have tried most of the menu over the years and have been ordering the salads recently. All of the salads are huge with fresh ingredients, and can include steak or chicken. They are wonderful. The Tex-Mex food is all good. The margaritas are very good, according to my wife. I usually have the Corona with a lime.

One of the best parts of the experience is when you get the bill. Prices are very affordable. Well done, Jose Tejas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had Gulf Coast Enchiladas, an appetizer, and queso dip for the chips, which were all extremely tasty. Plus 4 margaritas, and the total was just over $50. I would go back there again. And the staff was very friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Tejas also viewed

 

Been to Jose Tejas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose Tejas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.