We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 U.S. Highway 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you ever stayed at a Hampton Inn you expect a rather vanilla property; one that meets your needs comfortably but with no frills. What a surprise walking into the lobby of this Hampton....absolutely beautiful. Nicer than most higher end hotels that I stay.

Staff from welcoming at front desk to house keepers were all helpful, friendly and they even smile and said hello.

Rooms were very clean. Dined at the in-house restaurant; while not 5 star the food was fresh and plentiful.

Highly recommend this hotel.

As with all Hampton's the breakfast option is weak; but once again the staff keeping the line stocked were very nice people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
82
33
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice warm cozy large lobby.
We had 30 rooms for a wedding party & all were very satisfied. The included full breakfast enabled us to have an additional get together on the morning after.

Rooms are large & spacious with refrigerators & microwaves.
Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was one of the best trips we have been on. Suite was clean and staff was helpful and courteous. No questions were too much for them to do. Restaurant had the best food we have had in a long time and the wait staff was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This Hampton is a little older and its ready for some renovations. There's an expensive Italian restaurant of the premises. The room was very clean as promised by Hilton. However, the bathroom shower and drop ceiling needed attention at least in my room. I did notify the front-desk of the problem I have also attached a photo for your review. Good place if you are passing thru.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was one of the nicest Hampton Inns we've stayed at yet! The lobby is gorgeous. It is not often there is a full bar with a bar tender at a Hampton Inn other than those open for a manager reception. There was a beautiful lobby area, complete with leather couches, a baby grand piano (with live music played on a Friday night) and a floor to ceiling fireplace (with the most authentic logs and fire I have ever seen with a gas insert). There was a full restaurant, which we did not take advantage of, but the "bar" menu clearly reflected a more upscale choice of bar options. The proscuitto wrapped asparagus was better than I make at home. The room was spacious and clean. The only real negative worth mentioning was the hot tub/jacuzzi was set at 96 degrees- way too cold for a hot soak. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room is a fine size. We stayed in a king suite. The bedroom had a heater/air conditioning unit that sounded like a helicopter was landing in the room every 15 minutes. This means, on this cold day, we had to turn it off to sleep. We were cold. They provide the bare minimum when it comes to towels, dishes and toilet paper (no extra rolls - only by request). The trash cans are all small cans you would use for an office not for a place with a kitchen. You just don't feel like they care about your experience. It's just the basics. We stayed at a Holiday Inn express in PA right before this trip. The experiences were completely different. the Holiday Inn had nicer rooms, clean bathroom, nice staff. So, we had a direct comparison. Hampton Inn -- you can do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pntr6875
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked this during the Sandy huricane crisis and didn't know what to expect. We were thankful just to get a hotel.
Since I am a honors member they asked if I wanted to upgrade for points. Since we were without electricity for a couple of days and stressed I used my points for an upgrade to a suite.
What a beautiful room and a surprise. We loved it. Nicely furnished and comfortable.
I would definately stay there again if I didn't live so close. What a place for wedding guests to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield

Address: 118 U.S. Highway 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 154 newly renovated rooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an indoor heated pool with whirlpool, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. We serve a complimentary hot and cold breakfast daily and provide complimentary local shuttle service. Pets are not allowed at this property. Our in-house restaurant, Calandra's Mediterranean Grill, is located in our lobby and features a lobby bar. We serve lunch and dinner daily and offer room service. We have private meeting and banquet rooms that are ideal for corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield Hotel Fairfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Fairfield
Hampton Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.