We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property; Lack of Attention to Detail; Gritty Neighborhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   118 U.S. Highway 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Older Property; Lack of Attention to Detail; Gritty Neighborhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

It's not a bad choice but things can be improved. It's located on a highway in what appears to be a gritty part of town. I wouldn't stay here again.

This is an older Hampton Inn that could benefit from some freshening up. The decor such as the faux wood laminate doors look old and well worn. The furniture in the rooms is cheap and dated compared to other Hampton Inns I've been to. All of that can be overlooked but it's the lack of attention to detail that's troublesome. The furniture in my room was haphazardly placed. I have two chairs in front of the window that look like a three-year old arranged them. The note pad has one sheet of paper left on it. There was no good morning from the front desk. The free breakfast was okay but the fruit salad looked like it was cut up days ago. Trivial stuff, yes, but it's noticeable when not done right.

The free internet and breakfast are great when you're on business. I'll stay at a Hampton Inn again, but probably not this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
83
33
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I regularly stay at the Hampton Inn in Fairfield when traveling in NJ, getting close to 20 visits now, so I may be qualified to comment on this hotel!

The Hampton Inn Fairfield is a well-run hotel, with consistently clean and well-maintained rooms and other facilities. While it is not new, the hotel is continuing to perform minor renovations to keep the rooms in good condition. The staff is generally quite helpful and friendly. The location, on NJ Route 46, is quite convenient.

The number of rooms (150+) at the hotel is substantially larger than that of a typical Hampton Inn. The staff have no trouble dealing with this number of guests, and the breakfast area is big enough, but the fitness centre is at times quite busy -- getting there early is definitely a good idea.

The on-site restaurant (Calandra's Mediterranean Grill) is excellent, at least by hotel restaurant standards, and offers a great selection of Italian dishes, as well as a broad range of decent house wines (Italian, of course). The full restaurant menu is also available through room service. The bar, located in the lobby, offers the same wines plus other beverages, in a pleasant environment. A caveat about the bar, though: on some nights the noise level in the bar area will be fairly high, and can be audible in the rooms adjoining the bar/lobby.

A final note: in spite of the large number of rooms, this Hampton Inn is quite busy, and often sold out, so if you want to stay here, book early to secure a room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed there for a Wedding that was in the area. The staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel was clean and well taken care of. It is set back off the major road, it was quiet. It had a nice front area which opened up into the bar and breakfast buffet area. The grounds were well kept as were all the common areas. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our favorite hotel when we are in the North Jersey area.
The hotel is in a good location, the staff are friendly. the Business Office folks were very professional and helpful.
The best is the on-site restaurant, the Mediterranean Grill. The food is consistently terrific and Tom, the manager, leads his staff to top performance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed in this hotel after an amazing wedding near by, this hotel was one of only a few in the area and was suggested. Post wedding the festivities continued at the hotel bar (which was filled w 3 other weddings, which was fun). Everyone was having a blast chatting away. Last call was called and about 10 minutes later (before drinks were done) 2 off duty officers were telling ppl to leave the area, threatening citations if you didnt clear out fast enough). Even in our rooms after the hotel bar we were threatened by the officers who were now HOUNDING us to keep it down or be kicked out (and in no way were we rowdy). With 4 weddings blocks in the hotel you would think they would keep the wedding blocks together (to not bother others) so they could enjoy the end of their night, but no that was too hard a concept.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was upgraded & was pleasantly surprised by the size, setting of the room.
The ambience of the restaurant, bar is really good.

I was expecting the front desk to have the complimentary amenities, but apparently they didn't have them. I was advised to purchase them in the Sundry section next to the front desk. The items are not super expensive, but I haven't run into this situation in the longest time i've been with Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I always stay here even if it is 20 miles away from where I need to work. One of the best.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield

Address: 118 U.S. Highway 46 East, Fairfield, NJ 07004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 154 newly renovated rooms, a state-of-the-art fitness center, an indoor heated pool with whirlpool, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. We serve a complimentary hot and cold breakfast daily and provide complimentary local shuttle service. Pets are not allowed at this property. Our in-house restaurant, Calandra's Mediterranean Grill, is located in our lobby and features a lobby bar. We serve lunch and dinner daily and offer room service. We have private meeting and banquet rooms that are ideal for corporate and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield Hotel Fairfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Fairfield
Hampton Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.