We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a good meal - reasonable, not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant

Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant
94 Fairfield Road, Fairfield, NJ 07004
973-227-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Fairfield
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good place for a good meal - reasonable, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am from out of the area but been working here a while and stopped in 3 times for lunch in the last 2 weeks. The soups are fantastic, the sandwiches fresh and huge - I always take half with me. The ladiesthat work there are friendly, attentive and funny! The more i go there the more i like it. One reviewer said he went to watch a game - nah, it's not a sports bar, but they have 3 TV's over the bar so maybe you can cajole them to turn it up, then again, maybe not. I don't think they care if the customer is always right or not. I mean that in a friendly way - just the way it is at old established Italian bar/restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al L, owner at Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Sorry for the late response, Jeremiah, but your kind words still mean a lot. I hope you've been able to join us for many a lunch since you left this review last year. If not, we'd love to see you back soon.

Best,
Al Lombardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lombardi's offers a cozy atmosphere, easy to get to and the food is excellent. Large portions, good variety and the pizza is out of this world. The broccoli rabe is scrumptous and their chicken dishes are all mouth watering. It can get a little noisy, but the food trumps that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al L, owner at Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Glad you like the food, Bill. Good call on the broccoli rabe, too -- it's a hidden gem. Thanks for kind words, and I hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Al Lombardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Big Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very good food and very large portions, very reasonable prices and a good selction of beer

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The food is fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The food is fantastic, but the place is a dive. Service is very warm and friendly. Portions are HUGE! Very reasonable too! So it you want a really great Italian meal and don't mind the atmosphere, you are in for a treat!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great pub/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

you can go in for a friendly drink at the bar or treat your self for a meal that not only will surprise you in quality but also in quantity.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardi's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.