We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41-01 Broadway, Route 208 North, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm finding myself staying more and more at Hyatt places these days (can you say football on that large tv?)

Great staff great room! Only downside is the no left turn jersey roads

Love the new breakfast sandwiches too - big improvement

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    28
    16
    21
See reviews for
62
35
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Up to this point, I had only stayed in Hyatt Regencies in a few different locations. This was the first time that I stayed in one of their "lesser" hotels/motels. I have been a member of Holiday Inn's Priority Club for many years and have stayed in all the various "levels" of their chain -- from Holiday Inn Expresses up to Intercontinentals. I have just recently joined the Hyatt chain's loyalty program, so I thought I would try a Hyatt Place instead of a Holiday Inn Express when I had to spend overnight in northern New Jersey.

The room was spacious, with the "bedroom" area set off from the "living area" by a wall divider. There was a large modular sofa in the living area, with a desk and a wetbar with refrigerator. A large flat screen TV could be turned to face the bed or to face the sofa. Free WiFi is available.

The bathroom sink/vanity is across from the sleeping area, while the small bathroom itself has just the tub/shower and the toilet. When the management did their last renovations, they must have put new tub liners over the existing tubs. However, the tub liner in the room I was given didn't rest flat against the older tub below; it wasn't fitted properly. You got into the shower and the tub liner "gave" under your feet, causing you to, sort of, rock back and forth as you moved about in the shower.

The room was clean enough, but on entering the room for the first time, I was a bit taken back at the smell of industrial strength cleaning agents. The carpeted floor had a slight damp feel to it from frequent steam cleanings, I suppose.

The mattress on the bed could have used replacing. You could feel a definite "indentation" on one side of the bed. The fitted sheet on the mattress came loose by morning, and I had to restretch it over the mattress.

In comparing this Hyatt Place to the Holiday Inn Expresses I have stayed in, I would say a Holiday Inn Express wins out. I was hoping for something better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel should have a big sign that says "No Kids Allowed" this hotel is very not kid friendly hotel. The staff kept on yelling at my child who happens to be a very very well behaved 8 year old. 1 of the staff actually told my child to "walk nicely" what a shame

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fair Lawn hotels

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for business. The location is great close to all. Rooms as advertised. Nice. Small breakfast area and just the basics. Front desk staff was pleasant. Would stay again. Clean but could use some touch up in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

2 nights - great staff, nice bar for wine in the evening. enjoyed having breakfast and good coffee in the morning. Will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I found the hotel just wonderful. It was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and considering it is free and there is hot and cold selections, I can't understand anyone complaining at all. If they want gourmet, they should head out to a restaurant and pay for it. The only complaint that i have and this inclues all Hyatt Place hotels, is that the door to the bathroom when openned and closed always almost smacks into the toilet. This is not indicative of this hotel, just the way the chain was designed. The lobby was comfortable. i say this hotel was nicer than the competition around the block that i have stayed at ( Marriot Hotel on Rt 17 North Paramus), not that the Marriot was bad but there was NO breakfast included and not any nice sitting area like Hyatt Place. The hotel is easy to drive by so slow down when you get close and you won't miss it.

Room Tip: if you don't want noise from the pool, don't take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here 5 nights in June as part of a business trip. I had heard negative things about the hotel from coworkers who had stayed here previously, so I was worried. It's very easy to drive right by it if you don't know what you are looking for. The breakfast is average, but I didn't eat much other than oatmeal and fruit. The staff was hit or miss and some staff were more helpful than others. The room itself was great. It was large and the bed was very comfortable. Overall, the place is ok. If I have to return to this part of NJ, I will try to find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back of the hotel. The rooms on the front overlook the highway and it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus

Address: 41-01 Broadway, Route 208 North, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Fair Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fair Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from New York City and 10 miles west of the George Washington Bridge, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn/Paramus offers easy access to all of what Northern NJ and Manhattan has to offer. There is always something fun and new to do from world class shopping in Paramus, NJ or world renowned museums, sporting events, romantic dinners, or taking in a Broadway show in New York City. The Fair Lawn/Paramus hotel is situated in the heart of the “shopping capital of New Jersey”, offering easy access to the Garden State Plaza Mall, The Shops are Riverside, The Paramus Park Mall and Bergen Town Center. For avid sports and event fans, the hotel is located less than 10 miles from Giants Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack and the IZOD Center. There are several local family orientated attractions within a close proximity to the hotel such as Van Saun Park/Bergen County Zoo and The New Jersey Children’s Museum. If traveling for business, the hotel is only a few short miles from many local companies including Becton Dickinson, Kraft, Sandvik, and Hackensack Medical Center.With our oversized sleeping rooms large enough for a long term stay or just a weekend getaway, the Hyatt Place Fair Lawn is ideal for corporate and leisure guests alike! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus Hotel Fair Lawn
Hyatt Fair Lawn
Fair Lawn Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Fair Lawn Paramus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.