We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What it Once Was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny & Hanges

Johnny & Hanges
23-20 Maple Ave, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410-1583
201-791-9060
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 Restaurants in Fair Lawn
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Not What it Once Was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The dogs are still very good,white cheese is my favorite.,but the fries I had today were cold and burnt.I still miss the old place about a mile away over the bridge in paterson. It was a classic fast food dive,greasy loud and delicious.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“it will do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

stopped in for the texas wieners they are not bad.It was buy one get one free ,the toppings on the dogs was ok. i myself like like hot grill in clifton, to me they have the best texas wieners in the state but i was in fair lawn,so j&h had to do

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Dogs and more, including healthy fast food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Loyal customer since they opened up, and way back to the 70's when the Grosso family owned their deli in Franklin Lakes....the same emphasis on cleanliness, top-quality food, and customer service continues on in the current hot dog and fast (service) food....in addition to hot dogs, they have a vegetarian choice and delicious grilled chicken and others to chose from....daily lunch and a drink specials for $5.00 are great....also, have a Boylan's bottled birch beer, stewarts root beer, RC Cola, etc....top it off with a home made Cannoli, YUM!!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
“I concur with Jersey Guy - Best hot dogs anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

When I lived in NJ, this place was a frequent stop for hot dogs. They were located in Patterson, NJ then. The Patterson location was closed years ago. They now have two locatons, Maple Ave. in Fair Lawn and a second location in Wayne, NJ. Travelling to NJ with my grandsons, I had to introduce them to Johnny and Hanges so we visited the Fair Lawn location this week.

Two "all the way" dogs (mustard, hot dog sauce and raw onions) along with a side of french fries (yes, order them "all the way" as well) is a meal unto itself for under $10. The hot dogs are fried giving them a crunchy skin. Nothing fancy here, just excellent food, a clean restaurant and very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

This place is great for a quick lunch or dinner! We take the kids here and it is one of the few places where the kids really enjoy the food and time and then get excited over the little gumball/toy machines. The quality of the food is great and if you are not a hotdog/hamburger person like me, they have a great grilled eggplant sandwich-delicious! They also have freshly filled cannolis that are wonderful. I would highly recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny & Hanges also viewed

 

Been to Johnny & Hanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny & Hanges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.