We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexican Mariachi Grill

Mexican Mariachi Grill
1505 Parkway Avenue, Ewing, NJ 08628
+1 609-882-0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Ewing
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Takeout
Description: Mexican Mariachi Grill was founded on the basis of providing authentic Mexican food prepared with fresh ingredients. Our restaurant strives to provide the most value and customer experience on every meal every time.
northeast US
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have driven by this small location in a strip mall hundreds of times. I decided to stop and give it a try. the restaurant seems geared toward take-out. there are a few tables inside but the atmosphere is not very attractive. basic tables and decor to say the least.
Apparently they are spending their money on the food. The food was fantastic. We had fish tacos, we got two soft fish tacos, rice and beans for about 7 bucks. the food is is what i wold call semi-authentic mexican. We also had chicken chimi and beef tacos. We had the tres leches cake for dessert which may be the best I ever had. Absolutely delicious. decent prices overall. It was a bit frantic at lunch. I noticed people doing take out carefully checking their order before leaving and several had items missing. The items were quickly added and they were on their way. i hope to go back again soon.
.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Their Pico de Gallo is an actual food group for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've been going to Mexican Mariachi for lunch ever since they opened. I work right down the street, and I like how they have a punch-card deal for "regulars." I get their food at least 2-3 times every week, no exaggeration. I usually eat at my desk at work, and people all over the building get jealous of the wonderful aroma coming out of my office!
I love the chicken quesadilla, and always get it with lots of extra pico de gallo. I'm very picky about the chicken I eat, and their chicken is all white-meat and never grizzly, and it's sometimes shredded and sometimes in chunks.
I swear, the pico de gallo is an actual food group for me! Delicious fresh little chunks of tomato, onion, peppers and lots of cilantro. I could eat bowls of the stuff!
The salsa is homemade and comes in several levels of spiciness, plus they also have salsa verde. It's great, because you can totally customize your meal to the exact amount of spicy you like.
Now here's the big thing: I am not a dessert person. I rarely crave sweets and usually skip dessert. But Eugenia, the lady who owns the place, makes the BEST desserts. I like flan, but only GOOD flan. Not that fake pudding-like or weirdly-eggy stuff that some places try to pass off as real flan. Their flan is delicioso! So smooth and rich. But even better, she makes this dessert called "Impossible" which is flan on top and extremely moist chocolate cake on the bottom, all soaked in the light caramel sauce that the flan is normally soaked with. How do you say "Yum" in Spanish? I allow myself a slice of Impossible one day per week (well, maybe two if it's been a really stressful week). Otherwise, I'd be eating it every day and I'd be 300lbs! I've actually ordered an whole Impossible cake from them for a family event. They also make tres leches cake which is also good, very moist and creamy, but I can't stay away from the Impossible.
If you go for lunch, be aware that if you go before 1pm, you'll have hard time parking, and the place will be really crowded. It's a very small restaurant in a very small strip-mall. But I go after 1pm, and it's fine. I don't eat-in, but take-out. There are only a few tables and they tend to fill up. I sometimes stop on the way home and get take-out for dinner too.
I don't want anyone reading this to think I'm unrealistic, posting only positive things, or that I'm paid by the owners to post only positive things, so I'll add in the one negative--the chips. They offer free tortilla chips, to eat with salsa while you wait for your food to be prepared. But to me, the chips are kind of thick, a little too heavy (like Fritos). This doesn't mean there's anything wrong with them; I'm just a thin-chip girl I guess. But if the only negatives I can point out are that I don't enjoy the FREE chips and that they get really crowded from 12-1, then I'd say that's pretty good!
This little place opened up about 4 years ago, and they ended up doing so well, then opened a second location in Hamilton Twp. The owners are a family originally from Mexico who use their own family recipes. They are super-friendly and customer-focused. Sometimes Eugenia tries out a new dish, and offers samples to customers and asks for feedback. They are also proud of the fact that all their food is fresh--nothing has been frozen.
So if you work in the area, or if you're here for work, this is a place you need to check out. Remember: extra pico de gallo, and get the Impossible for dessert! You'll thank me.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stay skeptical.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Read the limited reviews. I'm always open to try a nice mom and pop joint. Others painted this as a positive choice but I disagree. I love authentic Mexican cuisine. Eat it regularly. I was so disappointed. Food was ok at best. I had the shrimp tacos they were not the worst I've ever had but they were far from tasty. My husband had a burrito. It was lukewarm and bland. But without a doubt the worst item was the salsa. I have never had a salsa with a marinara base. I said it and I'm positive the base was marinara sauce. Disappointing. Never going back.
The service was quiet and polite. Restaurant was about 85 degrees. Choose another place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unexpected deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stumbled upon this place while I third wheeled with my boyfriend on a work trip. I found it through Trip Advisor and was very skeptical because there were only two reviews. Considering it was a Sunday and nothing else was open I decided to give it a try despite the lack of reviews which did not help aid the stomach rumblings we both had. I am so glad we gave it a try, it was absolutely delicious! We had fish and shrimp tacos which came with three sides each, black beans, rice and avocado salad. The portions were perfect and the side sauces were amazing. Everything was extremely fresh. Definitely a place worth going too, it's a shame that I don't live closer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A small Mexican restaurant that wiil satisfy any Mexican food lover. Takeout or sit in. Try it you will like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexican Mariachi Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mexican Mariachi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexican Mariachi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.