We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Hornell, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice hotel - have stayed several times when visiting NYC - convenient, clean and affordable. The rooms are spacious, breakfast is good (havent eaten dinner) and a nice bar. The staff was very pleasant and took care of our needs. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossy S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Guest Survey and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments. We are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    60
    47
    14
    12
See reviews for
63
23
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is perfect for anyone traveling to see a game at Yankee Stadium. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are large and clean. The beds are comfortable. We were traveling with a group of 10 - of the 5 rooms there were no complaints about anything. The pool at the hotel is a plus for those who want to use it. A hot tub would make it better. The biggest plus of this hotel though and what makes it worth more is the location. Walking to the 4 West diner is easy for food and the bar is nice. A grocery store is 2 minutes drive and a great bagel shop is even closer. Yankee stadium is a simple 10 minute drive going RT 4 to 95 and over the George Washington Bridge. Would stay again next year if the price is right =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff, we wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza for business once last year, and again this year. The location is great…about 2 miles from our office. The hotel is a little outdated, but the service is good and it has a decent amount of amenities. The heated pool was nice and the breakfast was pretty good. One big plus is the hotel guests receive a complimentary pass to the “luxury” gym across the street. Given the hotel gym is small and has no free weights, this is even better. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, and NYC is only about 15 minutes by car. I will definitely stay here again when our team visits the NJ offices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and provide us with your feedback.
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive feedback from our guests. Undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here two consecutive nights, asking for, and receiving a quiet room, away from the elevators and ice/vending (I'm a light sleeper). I actually checked out after night one, not knowing I'd be back the next day, but it was easy both times.
THe front desk staff are friendly, professional and well-kempt. There was an irate phone caller speaking with one of the staff, who stayed calm and collected, as the other staff member assisted with my check-in. I glanced her way, gave her a knowing "sorry!" nod, and she smiled and gave an expression back of "it's what we do!"
THe hotel is clean, modern, and completely well managed. In the morning for my run, I was greeted several times by different staff members, who seemed truly interested in having happy guests. THe hotel is located close to (but far enough away from) busy Rt. 4. It's on a relavitely quiet street, backing up to residential apartments. The run I ended up doing from there was through residential neighborhoods, although I could've chosen to swim at the property's pool, which looked nice and long enough to do my lap swimming in. If that weren't enough, the hotel offers discounted day passes (or free to Crowne Plaza members) to the nearby, super luxury gym called "The Gym". Very nice, indeed.
The room was large, clean, and modern. I didn't hear a peep from anyone, on either side of me, above, below, or from the hall! I'm a rather light sleeper, so that gets high marks from me.
People staying at the hotel were all friendly and personable as well. Families, professional business people, and folks of different nationalities and ethnicities. In other words, fairly typical of any suburban NJ/NY establishments.
I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet night, with fine amenities, close to NYC and everything in NJ, shopping, entertainment, sports-wise. It certainly beats its sister property a bit further along Rt. 4 to the East, the Holiday Inn of Ft. Lee! Give that one a miss! And head here! Englewood is much nicer, as well, in terms of great dining, shopping, with a quieter sensibility, but still less than 20 minutes to Manhattan.

Room Tip: All rooms seem just fine! Really none are going to be noisy, as the elevator lobby is isolated by it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you were impressed with our Staff, and quality of Service.
Your recommendation of The Crowne Plaza Englewood is very important to us and we thank you for the vote of confidence. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ok hotel for trips to New York. 40 min by bus, where you get transported to/ from the bus stop by the hotel car - no charge, but some tip to the driver of course. The staff aimed to please in a way that we didn't expect so a pleasent stay for us :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Positive Points: -most of the front desk staff was friendly and welcoming!!
-shuttle service within 5 miles!!
-housekeeping did a good job
-overall best hotel in the area
-manager was very professional did a great job!!!
negative: -stay away from the breakfast!!
- most of the breakfast staff was very unfriendly never never smiling ...
-mould on stuffed pancakes üüüüüüühhhhh
-the rooms need badly refurnished
-the carpet in the rooms was really old.
But it´s really sad that in the area you just can find old hotels,and in between them I had stays in the Homewood suites Edgewater,Clinton Inn Tenafly,..... this is the best choice.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Room was very warm upon checking in. Turned AC down. Took several hours for it to get comfortable, but then the whole room felt damp. My friends all complained about wet carpet from their AC. One friend had two fluorescent lights out in his bathroom. Don't you think the cleaning crew should report that stuff right away? Geez. Cleanliness was ok. Best part of the stay was the bed. Mattress was soooo comfy. I do love a good mattress and they had them. Other than that, can't say too much more. Did enjoy the diner across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and provide us with your feedback.
We constantly strive to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;