We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Englewood
Sarasota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel was clean but desperately needs to be refurbished.
Good location, plenty of parking, but old hotel....
Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Elevators were extremely slow.
They did offer free coffee in the AM...
I would much rather find a newer hotel in the area if possible,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always appreciated receiving constructive comments. Your comments and observations were shared with our management team; undoubtedly, there is always room for improvement and we thank you for assisting us towards that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
54
20
25
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blainville, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a fast last minute trip for me staying just 1 night on June 26, 2013. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating upon my early arrival and gave me access to my room.
The king non-smoking room was well appointed with a sofa (sleeper), coffee table, a nice sized desk that I really needed, a very nice sized TV with dish-net that had occasional signal problems, but not enough to warrant me calling the front desk.
For the restaurant in the hotel and room service, I had ordered linguini pasta with a very nice basil sauce and large meatballs. The meatballs were out of this world; I actually wanted to order more to go and I will order this again when I return. The meal was served with nice warm buns and side salad that was more than enough. Everything was very fresh and way better than most hotel restaurant's!
Upon check out, the front desk was very friendly and attentive wanting to make sure my stay was pleasant. I had advised I will stay here again with my future returns to Englewood Cliffs, NJ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments, we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Mi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza the weekend of May 31 thru June 2, 2013. Our rooms were clean and bright. The morning coffee was very good and the pool was refreshing. We were attending a Fordham class reunion in the Bronx and while a trip over the George Washington Bridge is never easy, the location of the hotel was convenient to both the Bronx and Manhattan. A good stay for all.

Room Tip: There is a great diner across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments from our guests.Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean comfortable hotel. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Room was nicely furnished. Could have been a bit larger for the three of us, but still a good deal compared to other hotels we've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and for your kind comments, we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limestone, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

room was clean, the area quiet especially if you have a top floor facing the back. The diner across the street is convenient and good food served. the windows opened which permits fresh air, I really dislike hermetically sealed, feel claustrophobic, so it is nice to be able to open the window and shut off the a/c.convenient to NYC without the pricetag.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and provide us with information in regards to your recent stay with us. On behalf of the hotel management and staff I wish to thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in May for my sons graduation this is the 2nd time we have used this hotel and found it once again to be perfect for our needs, rooms clean and bed very comfy, breakfast was plenty and a bus ride of about 45 mins to the city centre of New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you from all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Englewood and for your kind comments, we are looking forward for the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location to Manhattan and clean accomodations, but could use a litte updating. Ceiling in bathroom was loose and in need of repair, but price is very good and beds are comfortable and new looking. Food service in the restaurant was very very slow - food not bad but the wait was very long and there was hardly anyone in the restaurant. Also, only Chinese newspapers - don't understand that one. Shuttle was very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatima O, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Your comments have been discussed amongst the entire Hotel Management team. We wish to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We assure you that action steps will be taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood

Address: 401 South Van Brunt St, Englewood, NJ 07631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You ve just found Englewood s best kept secret! Located right off Route 4 and minutes from downtown Manhattan, the Crowne Plaza Englewood provides the perfect blend of comfort, convenience and service. Visit the many fine restaurants and shops of downtown Englewood. Take in a show at Bergen Performing Arts Center. Catch the game at Yankee Stadium, Citi Field or the Izod Center. Visiting New York City? New Jersey Transit bus transportation is only a few blocks away. Successful meetings start here! We are close to many corporations such as: Unilever, Samsung, LG Electronics, Staples, Cognizant and CareOne. Ready to relax after a big day? Settle into one of the spacious guest rooms at this first-class Englewood New Jersey hotel - with stylish furnishings and features that evoke the comforts of home. Unwind in our large heated swimming pool, or work out in our fully equipped exercise room. Planning a wedding or social event? Our on site catering staff is at your service, ready to create the perfect ambiance for every occasion. Experience unsurpassed elegance at this contemporary-style hotel in Northern New Jersey, where you'll find a variety of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Englewood
Englewood Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.